Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Debian NVIDIA drivers  (Read 4789 times)

tonyappuk

• Reg Member
Debian NVIDIA drivers
« on: September 27, 2008, 09:51:31 PM »

I have been using XP dual booted with Mint Linux for a few months now on this new PC I put together and it works fine with both operating systems. I decided that I ought to try to get Debian Etch working as well since that is the basis of so many Distros. I already had Etch installed on one of the hard drives in the PC and because I had spent some time configuring it in the old PC I thought I would try to run it without doing a new install.

Surprisingly I managed to triple boot to it but the screen resolution is very silly at 640 x 480 on a 19" LCD screen with no option to change it in the relevant window. I have done a lot of Googling but all the fixes seem very complex and hedged about with caveats. Has anyone here managed to install NVIDIA drivers in a Debian Etch system? If some good soul is kind enough to pick this up I can happily tell him or her what I have done so far and the results. Don't want to bore everyone to tears!

I do hope someone can help or am I stuck with a reinstall, and will that fix the problem?
Tony

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Debian NVIDIA drivers
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2008, 10:55:50 PM »

Debian Etch is now getting a bit long in the tooth, and Lenny (i.e. Testing) is planned to be released as Stable in a month or so. I've been using Lenny for the last 9 months or so (like most Debian desktop users) and it hasn't let me down at all.

If you really want to stick with Etch, then you should be able to set up the X server using the open source nv driver by running (as root):
Code: [Select]
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg