Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Photobucket, will I lose the links if I move the pictures  (Read 3555 times)

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Photobucket, will I lose the links if I move the pictures
« on: September 26, 2008, 04:01:12 AM »

If I create another folder in Photobucket and then move some of my pictures into the new folder, will I lose the links to those pictures already published?

Hopefully, I will answer the question myself as I am now going to move the picture below into the new folder.




***********
edit
OK that answers that question.
Yes it does.
 :bye:

Yet in Preview it's still showing it as being there, will have to wait and see after I close it.

edit
Yes it's gone........... :bye:
« Last Edit: September 26, 2008, 04:06:50 AM by oldfogy »
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8850
  • Prog Rock Fan
Re: Photobucket, will I lose the links if I move the pictures
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2008, 06:20:47 AM »

If I create another folder in Photobucket and then move some of my pictures into the new folder, will I lose the links to those pictures already published?

Yes, because you are changing the physical location of the file (just the same as moving it on your hard drive), so the picture won't show unless you update the link, as it would still be looking in the old location.


> Yet in Preview it's still showing it as being there,

Probably because your browser is still reading from the old file in its cache.
Logged
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Photobucket, will I lose the links if I move the pictures
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2008, 11:04:11 AM »


Probably because your browser is still reading from the old file in its cache.

Yes, once I had cleaned out the "scrap" cashe I lost seeing it.
Just out of curiosity, I'll put it back later.

I should have realised earlier and created a new folder for all the tutorial pictures, so that they were kept separately and out of the general run-of-the-mill day-to-day folder.
Because once they were created I don't need to see them again.
There are too many in there now to change, but I might just move my other pictures which are not so important into the new folder and use that one a the general dumping folder.
After all it's only one extra click to access.

********************
edit

So moving it back to it's original place/folder also replaced the lost/broken link.
Useful to know.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2008, 07:26:41 PM by oldfogy »
Logged