Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Hello folks  (Read 7894 times)

sevenlayermuddle

• Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
Hello folks
« on: September 25, 2008, 04:17:43 PM »

Hi Folks,

I recently joined the forum, and have already launched in with a few posts, but thought it might be good manners to also introduce myself.

I'm a software engineer with an electronics background and over 30 years experience under my belt, mostly writing lower layer protocol stacks for data and telephony applications.  I've had a life-long interest in telephones and, as a school kid, used to hang around the entrance to the telephone exchange after school, pleading with the returning engineers to give me any broken stuff they'd picked up on their rounds.  You'd be surprised what a 12 year-old could do in the late 60's with a few grotty old telephone receivers and some rickety dials.

I've never had cause to investigate the workings of adaptive ADSL until recently, when I experienced problems with my own line that I needed to understand.  In my pursuit of knowledge I stumbled upon this truly excellent website.   Please acccept my hearty congratulations on its creation!

UncleUB

• Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
Re: Hello folks
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 04:20:14 PM »

Hi sevenlayermuddle and welcome to the forums  :)

PS,where's the name come from  :hmm:

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2008, 04:26:13 PM »

We've already met, but welcome anyway, and thanks for your kind remarks. :)
  Eric

sevenlayermuddle

• Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2008, 04:36:48 PM »