Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Micra digital talk talk problem (also posted in adsl forum)  (Read 4330 times)

sammi

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Micra digital talk talk problem (also posted in adsl forum)
« on: December 04, 2006, 12:02:48 AM »

Hello there
I was wondering if anybody could give me some advice
My grandad has talk talk ADSL and I have taken off his speed touch 330 usb modem and installed a Micra digital wireless modem/router.
I have put in the correct settings:
PPPoa
0,38
talktalk username and password
timeout 0 minutes
always connected
etc

both my mums and my laptops will coneect to the internet through this wireless network and I'm fine for 5-10 minutes then I notice the internet goes slow and then I lose all internet however the Wireless assistant always says I am connected to my network.

I tried a continuous ping to google the other day on my mums laptop while surfing the net on mine, sure enough after a few minutes I start dropping about every 7-8 pings then more and more until all pings time out and I have to basically reset the router or change a setting and save it.

Because I can always connect to the router Im inclined to think its the adsl to router part thats timing out.
My mum said that when they had the usb modem conneted to my grandads computer it didnt do this.

Like I said idle timout is set to 0 minutes it's set to always connected but have tried these settings with 30,000 and trigger connection by traffic. I'm baffled.

Any help greatly appreciated!!
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32832
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Micra digital talk talk problem (also posted in adsl forum)
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2006, 11:06:53 AM »

Are you loosing sync (connection to the exchange)?

It is possible that the slow down is an increase in errors, and then the connection drops out completely.
Ive actually known the ST modem behave better than some routers on low snr lines.

If so are you able to provide us with your line stats?
Im afraid I dont know where they will be on the Micra - its not a router Ive come across before.

The figures we will need are:
Connection speed
SNR (Noise) Margin
Attenuation.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

sammi

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Micra digital talk talk problem (also posted in adsl forum)
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2006, 11:20:23 PM »

Hiya thanks ok here are my stats

Stream Type( Actual Data Rate)
Upstream
448 (Kbps.)
Downstream
6951 (Kbps.)

Operation Data
Upstream
Noise Margin
0 dB
Attenuation
41 dB

Downstream
Noise Margin
2147483646 dB
Attenuation
39 dB
 
When I am connected ok for the first 10 minutes I have very few errors but at the mo...
Interleaved Path CRC Error(far end indicator) 19608
Interleaved Path FEC Correction(far end indicator) 2274628

I have been reading the advice pages which really have helped because I have noticed that I am losing the connection as the errors go up

I'm up for getting the netgear modem because it seems to be a popular choice but do you think it will help me??
 
 
 
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32832
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Micra digital talk talk problem (also posted in adsl forum)
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2006, 02:04:56 AM »

You have really good sync figures..  but those SNR Margins aint too good at all.

>> Upstream Noise Margin 0 dB
>> Downstream Noise Margin 2147483646 dB

I dont think Ive ever seen  a connected Upstream SNR actually at 0db before.
The huge number on your downstream generally means that youve gone into negative figures which your router cant report properly.

In view of the errors, and the SNR then its no wonder that you are loosing the connection.
Theres a bit more info about LowSNR which will help you understand what is going on.
http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/lowSNR.htm
Theres also a few tips to try help improve your SNR Margin.

How long have you been on MAX - are you still in the 10 day training period?
If so it should hopefully sort itself out over a few days.

Yes you will find that its common for the errors to increase before an actual Disconnect..  and this is why you are seeing the slow laggyness.

Before trying getting a new router it may be worthwhile plugging the ST back in and getting your line stats from that - just to ensure that its not something with the Micra.
Details how to get line stats from the ST:-
http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.htm

Also check using the test socket in the master socket, just to rule out the possibility of problems with internal wiring.

I notice you have interleaving applied, if you are still within the training period then its possible that the DLM may increase your Target SNR which could help stablise the line. It will give you a lower sync speed, but higher SNR Margin which should enable you to remain connected.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

EVIL-SCOTSMAN

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: Micra digital talk talk problem (also posted in adsl forum)
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2006, 09:00:48 AM »

Also, are you sure no one like a neighbour who also has wireless or whatever is stealing your bandwidth ? as its easily done, lock down your wireless and dont transmit the ssid, also use wpa and make sure only computers with known MAC addresses can connect to it, that should keep out other folks and give you 100% of your wireless connection.


It is most likely not someone stealing your bandwidth  thats giving you probs but its better to be safe than sorry...
Logged

sammi

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Micra digital talk talk problem (also posted in adsl forum)
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2006, 02:59:45 PM »

Hey I've got security set on the router but will try to restrict it to the 3 MAC address's that I know will connect. Im sorry I'm taking so long,the talktalk disk has gone *missing* (not me lol) so I havent been able to connect with the speedtouch 330 even though I have downloaded the drivers.
My boyf gave me his old Sky netgear router but it's all locked down by Sky and when I went on a google search I found some info on another forum saying that it would be unlikely that I can use this router (post by kitz actually weird!).
My connection is really good today actually but am going to continue to try and get the line stats from the speedtouch and also my grandad might possibly get a netgear modem just to chance that it will work better.
Oh spoke too soon I'm dropping pings now, best post quickly.....
Logged

sammi

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Micra digital talk talk problem (also posted in adsl forum)
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2006, 10:42:16 AM »

Hey guys, the first netgear router was broke!
After all that messing..... I could connect throught ethernet cable but it wasnt throwing out any wireless signal, but I went and exchanged it and my connection has been up for over 12 hours now so fingers crossed Im all sorted now!
Thanks a lot for all your help and advice!
Have a great Christmas
Sammi
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32832
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Micra digital talk talk problem (also posted in adsl forum)
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2006, 11:09:48 AM »

Hi sammi

Yep the sky netgears are indeed locked down by sky so they cant be used with another ISP.
However updated info is..  I believe that a few people were doing some "testing" on the skyusers forum, and I believe they managed to hack it by using a version of firmware from Netgear.

It can be risky and the forum doesnt advise doing so unless you know what youre doing.
You may have to dig around on the forum for the info.. if you want to doing some "technical testing". iirc it was stickied at one point, but they moved it after a request from sky to another section. [I'm going from memory so dont quote me].


>> and my connection has been up for over 12 hours now so fingers crossed Im all sorted now!

Thats good news - hope it continues to do so..  evenings are normally the worst time.. so fingers crossed that it continues to stay stable.

>> Have a great Christmas

You too :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker