Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Home network advice pls HG612 - HH5A - Smart Hub 2  (Read 2178 times)

Dr. Strangelove

• Just arrived
Home network advice pls HG612 - HH5A - Smart Hub 2
« on: October 10, 2023, 02:41:18 PM »

Hi All,

Apologies in advance for this very long post - I'm very familiar with hardware but I'm new to networking and have been racking my brains about this and could really do with some help  :-[.

I'm looking for advice on reconfiguring my network, so I've made an incredibly simple network diagram of my flat home network in my small apartment which is attached to this post.

I am with BT currently, on FTTC and am currently synced at 55Mbps down and 10Mbps up.

The reason for doing this is I'm not very happy with the smart hub 2 due to it being so locked down. I'm also worried about security given the incessant cyber attacks that are going on these days so I'm looking to secure my network as best I can, whilst being on a tight budget.

I have already purchased a HG612 and a homehub 5A.

I've unlocked the HG612 already and will be flashing OpenWRT on the HH5A today,
sidenote - I hope to eke out some slightly better performance/reliability from all of the devices in this post by adding small heatsinks and tiny fans to each.

I have some questions, (just sanity checking mostly) and have detailed options I'm considering below.

Although I have been pouring over the forum and documentation, I thought it best to get some advice as you guys know networking and the particular limitations and pitfalls of using the HG612, HH5A and potentially the Smart Hub 2 in conjunction with each other.

HG612