Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 10

Author Topic: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?  (Read 12551 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 7426
  • AAISP CF
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #75 on: April 16, 2024, 04:52:09 PM »

Yeah, it can be fun watching people post tidbits, like they a regular user, but must be in the industry somewhere to know that information as its behind OR ISP portal or other NDA areas, I always appreciate when people dont mind declaring who they work for or affiliations etc.
Logged

dee.jay

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #76 on: April 16, 2024, 06:18:49 PM »

So some more developments. AA portal showing mid June as install date now, waiting on civils. This is normal practice. However, today, civils team arrived and managed to pull through fibre without any digging required. Even heard one of them saying “I thought this was a direct bury area”. But never mind, they were able to attach fibre to the end of my copper cables, pull those all out and out popped the fibre, now taped up in a coil outside my door, they said they’d be back to complete today/tomorrow.

Logged
AAISP 1000/115 FTTP routed by opnsense on proxmox. Even my WiFi is baller

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 7426
  • AAISP CF
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #77 on: April 16, 2024, 06:36:10 PM »

Good news then. :)

My AAISP FTTP should be online hopefully during May, if lucky even April.
Logged

dee.jay

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #78 on: April 16, 2024, 06:42:37 PM »

Civil guy claimed they could finish whole job (including internals) so could be imminent!
Logged
AAISP 1000/115 FTTP routed by opnsense on proxmox. Even my WiFi is baller

dee.jay

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #79 on: April 17, 2024, 01:28:47 PM »

Well, that's it.

AAISP FTTP is now live.
Logged
AAISP 1000/115 FTTP routed by opnsense on proxmox. Even my WiFi is baller

Alex Atkin UK

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5311
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #80 on: April 17, 2024, 02:01:55 PM »

What?  No Speed Test? :p
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Intel N100) + Huawei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
Switches: Netgear MS510TXUP, Netgear MS510TXPP, Netgear GS110EMX My Broadband History & Ping Monitors

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 7426
  • AAISP CF
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #81 on: April 17, 2024, 02:37:08 PM »

Waiting for speed test (include single threaded please if you can).
Logged

dee.jay

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #82 on: April 17, 2024, 02:39:40 PM »

Well I didn't think to grab the URL result for my best result, and turns out I need to rework my internal LAN a bit :D a machine with a single 1Gbps NIC on a stick means you only get 500Mbps and I'd forgotten that, so moving router to a new box.

To follow, but it's in and working and 950Mbps, and I'm done, the end. :D
Logged
AAISP 1000/115 FTTP routed by opnsense on proxmox. Even my WiFi is baller

dee.jay

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
« Last Edit: April 17, 2024, 02:52:13 PM by dee.jay »
Logged
AAISP 1000/115 FTTP routed by opnsense on proxmox. Even my WiFi is baller

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 7426
  • AAISP CF
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #84 on: April 17, 2024, 02:50:52 PM »

thank you.
Logged

dee.jay

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #85 on: April 17, 2024, 02:51:49 PM »

Logged
AAISP 1000/115 FTTP routed by opnsense on proxmox. Even my WiFi is baller

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 7426
  • AAISP CF
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #86 on: April 17, 2024, 04:24:35 PM »

I guess yeah, single threaded on TBB can be a little sporadic, Over 700 I consider a reasonable result.  Multi threaded of course looks solid which I definitely expected.

When my CF install is done, whenever that may be I will share the speedtest from that as well, alongside a late VM test as a comparison.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5311
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #87 on: April 17, 2024, 04:56:10 PM »

Agreed, I see a lot of people on TBB forum blaming Zen for poor single-thread tests but its clearly TBB itself.  From the right server I can hit Gigabit single threaded, I don't think I ever once have on the TBB speed test.
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Intel N100) + Huawei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
Switches: Netgear MS510TXUP, Netgear MS510TXPP, Netgear GS110EMX My Broadband History & Ping Monitors

dee.jay

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #88 on: April 17, 2024, 05:01:54 PM »

I've had to wait until after work hours to do a full router swap, so hopefully get that done in the next few hours, managed to point my work laptop at it but v6 is still going over Starlink which I didn't want to touch :D

Logged
AAISP 1000/115 FTTP routed by opnsense on proxmox. Even my WiFi is baller

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5722
Re: Anyone on VMO2 FTTP?
« Reply #89 on: April 17, 2024, 05:28:35 PM »

So some more developments. AA portal showing mid June as install date now, waiting on civils. This is normal practice. However, today, civils team arrived and managed to pull through fibre without any digging required. Even heard one of them saying “I thought this was a direct bury area”. But never mind, they were able to attach fibre to the end of my copper cables, pull those all out and out popped the fibre, now taped up in a coil outside my door, they said they’d be back to complete today/tomorrow.

There ya go pal - the prints do allude that the lead-in's are DiG, but not in your particular case. The engineer would (I would hope), have looked at those before attending site, and upon seeing it as actually ducted, grown a wide grin on his kipper.  ;D ;D ;D

Real world scenarios always chuck curve-balls. Your estate may well be DiG lead-in's, but (for example) a previous occupant may have experienced issues with their circuit and some time in the past the lads have replaced the DiG aspect with a ducted route to your house ?? All guess work.

However, good to see you've finally got what you've been seeking, for quite a while. I'm on BRSK 1Gig symmetrical and it's fantastic.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 10
 

anything