Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv  (Read 3473 times)

denrok

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« on: August 27, 2023, 11:17:42 AM »

Logged

tubaman

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 12401
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2023, 02:18:41 PM »

I suspect it'll need an interface group added as per this thread for the VMG8324 - https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,15784.msg293822
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 265
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2023, 06:01:13 PM »

Logged

pdavidson

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2023, 10:57:50 PM »

As luck would have it, my Zyxel VMG1312 just arrived for use with NowTV, as the Hub 2 is easily the worst piece of networking kit I've ever worked with. The patched firmware in the thread isn't at the link any more, but I've messaged the user to see if they're still active and have the firmware available! I'm thinking I might try the initial one and hope for the best.

I'll let you know either way!
Logged

denrok

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2023, 08:00:15 AM »

Thanks for the links.

@pdavidson i'm not even going to take my hub 2 out of the box it's that bad. The firmware i'm running allows for 2 option61 values so I'm hoping that's enough as apparently you don't need to do wireshark captures anymore to get it working on a 3rd party router now i think there is just a question mark over the uaid value? When you get up and running could you let me know what settings you used.

Also the firmware linked in above thread is for the 8924 not the 1312.

Update seems my line has been activated early so no trying to get it working, i've tried

IPOE
IAID 00000000
abcdefghi@nowtv|qwertyuio as hex
DUID 616263646566676869406e6f7774767c71776572747975696f
With and without vlan 101 but neither works.

I read somewhere that the broadband mac may be needed i.e

macaddress@nowtv|12345678 then converted to hex.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2023, 08:25:41 PM by denrok »
Logged

denrok

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2023, 01:34:32 PM »

I suspect this hardware might need one of siofjofj patches.
Logged

denrok

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2023, 06:48:39 PM »

For what it's worth my line doesn't have vectoring enabled

Code: [Select]
VDSL Training Status:   Showtime
Mode:   VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL Profile:   Profile 17a
G.Vector:   Disable
Traffic Type:   PTM Mode
Link Uptime:   0 day: 23 hours: 36 minutes
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5239
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2023, 02:18:18 AM »

Most lines don't have vectoring available.
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Intel N100) + Huawei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
Switches: Netgear MS510TXUP, Netgear MS510TXPP, Netgear GS110EMX My Broadband History & Ping Monitors

denrok

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2023, 08:12:12 AM »

Agreed, i only mentioned it as i've seen a device have 2 firmwares with one of them being for lines with vectoring. I've had to plug in my nowtv router so i can get internet until the VMG1312 works or i buy an alternative device.
Logged

denrok

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2023, 07:13:26 PM »

I tried to connect using my tplink vr600 which has a specific sky vdsl mer profile with the following credentials but that also failed to work.
abcdefghi@nowtv
qwertyuio
Logged

denrok

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2023, 08:33:40 PM »

ok got the tplink working so will stick with that for now.
Logged

pdavidson

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2023, 07:00:51 PM »

I actually returned mine as I couldn't get it to work. I then ordered a secondhand Zyxel VM8924-B10A so that I could just upload the firmware at the link and go from there... but I'm still having no joy as yet. The original poster has messaged in the meantime and been extremely helpful, so there may yet be hope, but I'm just not sure what I'm doing wrong at this point... I'll let you know if it plays ball later!
Logged

pdavidson

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #12 on: September 01, 2023, 09:01:48 PM »

The VMG8924-B10A is working!! Thanks entirely to the selfless efforts of @siofjofj, I can confirm that it is now up and running and I am freed from the albatross around the neck that is the Hub 2. I will post the settings they gave me below as I had some of the values wrong!
Quote
In Network Setting -> Broadband you should have a single connection listed for VDSL. Click modify and check it matches the below.

ADSL/VDSL over PTM
Routing
IpoE
IPv6/IPv4 DualStack

Obtain an IP Address Automatically
DHCP option 60: Blank
DHCP option 61 IAID: 00000000
DHCP option 61 DUID: 616263646566313233343536406E6F7774767C6162636431323334 (abcdef123456@nowtv|abcd1234 as hex)
DHCP option 43 enable: No

NAT Enable: Yes
Fullcone NAT Enable: No
IGMP Proxy Enable: Yes
Apply as Default Gateway: Yes

DNS: Dynamic (or static if you want to use a specific DNS server)

IPv6 Address Automatic
Get IPv6 Address from DHCPv6 (IA_NA) No
Prefix Delegation (IA_PD) Yes
MLD Proxy Enable: Yes
Default Gateway: Yes

IPv6 DNS: Dynamic (again, static if you prefer other DNS servers)

QoS: Blank and Disable

VLAN
Active: Yes
802.1p: 1
802.1q: 101

MTU: 1500
Logged

denrok

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2023, 09:48:02 AM »

Funnily enough i have an VMG8924 on it's way to me as well. Glad you got it working did you use the firmware form this post https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=25176.0 i.e https://www.dropbox.com/s/3g39b9stnhp4acx/8x24-B10A-28-jumbo-opt61-tel-stats-cmd.bin?dl=0
Logged

pdavidson

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Zyxel VMG1312 and nowtv
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2023, 01:53:07 AM »

I used the updated firmware linked in the final post of that thread, iirc. But yes, it's the custom patched firmware that made it all work!

Best of luck!
Logged
 

anything