Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: New Home with G.Fast  (Read 8518 times)

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1975
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2023, 01:01:07 PM »

I can see virgin media now offering broadband stand alone with speed of 362/36 @ 15 a month for six months then 18 months at 30 in a 24 months contract with no set up fee. That's might help some people's. If I know this offering I will take it.
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2243
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2023, 01:06:20 PM »

Why is it pointless? We have had it in one of our remote offices, served it very well for the past few years and with another 4+ years until FTTP arrives it does the job fine

I don't know a single person who has had it and not had issues. It's useful for about 1% of customers, really pointless.
Logged

spaace

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2023, 01:16:10 PM »

I don't know a single person who has had it and not had issues. It's useful for about 1% of customers, really pointless.

well now you know 1 :)
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5335
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2023, 01:54:24 PM »

Probably seen as pointless given the abysmally short reach that benefits those who can already get the full 80 anyway.

Of course by that logic WiFi is pointless because it doesn't have unlimited reach, copper ethernet is pointless because it "only" goes 100m.  There is no rationalising with people who think like that.

well now you know 1 :)

Of course, clearly if everyone they know had issues then everyone with the service MUST have issues, because its not like issues can be regional or anything, or that people wont talk about a service that's working perfectly nearly as much.
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Intel N100) + Huawei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
Switches: Netgear MS510TXUP, Netgear MS510TXPP, Netgear GS110EMX My Broadband History & Ping Monitors

XGS_Is_On

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 487
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2023, 02:07:19 PM »

G.Fast is utterly pointless, I am astonished it is still for sale to be honest.

It's a stop-gap for people that want faster speeds but have no full-fibre option and don't want to use cable. Longer term it is indeed pointless but clearly it has some point for this user.

Can't we just be happy that he's happy and has the best connection at a good price? The technology he's using to get that connection doesn't matter.
Logged
YouFibre You8000 customer: symmetrical 8 Gbps.

Yes, more money than sense. Story of my life.

craigski

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 294
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #20 on: January 23, 2023, 03:10:36 PM »

There is no point '.' between the G & F on Openreach website, so maybe it is 'pointless'  :)

https://www.openreach.com/fibre-broadband/gfast-fibre-broadband

Logged

dee.jay

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1005
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #21 on: January 23, 2023, 08:25:08 PM »

Of course by that logic WiFi is pointless because it doesn't have unlimited reach, copper ethernet is pointless because it "only" goes 100m.  There is no rationalising with people who think like that.

Absolutely - I wasn't endorsing that viewpoint. Would hardly be befitting of someone in my position...
Logged
AAISP 1000/115 FTTP routed by opnsense on proxmox. Even my WiFi is baller

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33915
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #22 on: January 24, 2023, 08:39:23 AM »

There is no point '.'
Very witty  :P   :D

-----
It sometimes causes problems with file structure. 
Same with g.inp, g.DMT etc :(
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

fat jez

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #23 on: February 10, 2023, 09:37:36 PM »

well now you know 1 :)

Two. My choice is full speed G.fast with Zen or Virgin Media. Much happier with G.fast, I've not had the best experiences with VM.
Logged
Zen G.fast 330/50

dee.jay

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1005
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #24 on: February 20, 2023, 05:02:11 PM »

For all copper's faults - and crosstalk aside there's nothing inherently wrong with it. I'd be more than happy with 330 on full g.fast if it stayed at that speed. Would I change 330 G.fast to FTTP? I still would. Fibre is far superior any day of the week - but what do I know ;)
Logged
AAISP 1000/115 FTTP routed by opnsense on proxmox. Even my WiFi is baller

Alex Atkin UK

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5335
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: New Home with G.Fast
« Reply #25 on: February 20, 2023, 06:16:21 PM »

I have a friend in Texas who hates Cable so much he is stuck with AT&T DSL (not sure what form, I suspect VDSL).  He'd jump at the chance of G.fast, but its not gonna happen.  He's basically had no connection for the last week due to them upgrading something.
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Intel N100) + Huawei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
Switches: Netgear MS510TXUP, Netgear MS510TXPP, Netgear GS110EMX My Broadband History & Ping Monitors
Pages: 1 [2]