Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9

Author Topic: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick  (Read 12449 times)

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 11459
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 4x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« on: August 17, 2022, 01:07:46 PM »

This should just instantly work with the Firebrick but I assume the device will do the bad thing, meaning that it will want to be a NATing router that presents either an ethernet interface or an IPv4 driver interface to the Brick. I presume that I have to do something to put it into bridge mode and get it to support PPP, is that correct?

I’m hoping that this very helpful article in support.aa.net.uk applies to this ZTE model too. It suggests that I can use the Firebrick as a tool to help access the web admin interface of the ZTE and configure it. Luckily its default www admin IPv4 address 192.168.0.1 is not clashing with anything that I’m already using in my current Firebrick config, which uses 192.168.1-4.1/24 to talk to the modems’ admin i/f’s, and therefore luckily doesn’t clash.

Does anyone have experience with the ZTE MF286D ?
« Last Edit: August 17, 2022, 01:21:22 PM by Weaver »
Logged

meritez

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1634
Logged

meritez

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1634
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2022, 12:59:14 PM »

@Weaver has it arrived yet?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38300
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2022, 06:06:07 PM »

Looking at the link ("How to change ZTE 4G modem from route mode to bridge mode and get a public IPv4 address on your firewall"), the third sentence states --

Quote
Disconnect 4G because you won’t be able to change some of the settings in connected mode.

b*cat wonders how one would achieve a disconnected state and presumes removing the SIM card would be sufficient?  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 11459
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 4x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2022, 06:58:39 PM »

Just arrived this afternoon. Am very unwell so no investigation today.
Logged

meritez

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1634
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2022, 08:26:25 PM »

Looking at the link ("How to change ZTE 4G modem from route mode to bridge mode and get a public IPv4 address on your firewall"), the third sentence states --

b*cat wonders how one would achieve a disconnected state and presumes removing the SIM card would be sufficient?  :-\

You go to 2. Change the green switch from on to off.
You then go to the top right and change the mode from router to bridge.

https://tunkkaamo.cloud/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/image.png

Just arrived this afternoon. Am very unwell so no investigation today.

No rush, just saw cex has no more stock.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2022, 08:33:10 PM by meritez »
Logged

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 11459
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 4x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2022, 09:54:40 PM »

I’m really ashamed. In my state of exhaustion, I never looked at the photos and when the parcel arrived this afternoon, I said to my wife, “what a huge box for something the size of a fish finger", and Janet said, “well there is a power supply with it". I said "what?" and opened up the box. All this time I had been thinking that I was ordering a ‘dongle’ - a 4G USB NIC. :-[ :-[

That explains the strange comments that I made earlier, such as "It should just work". As far as the Firebrick goes, I have a similar interfacing problem as with the SXT, how to make a PPPoE modem do failover. But doing PPPoE modems is easy, I have those already. I just need to work out how to do failover, but I think I know how to do that, using ‘profiles’. These are Firebrick predicates plus conditional-if attributes that you apply to elements/objects. I already use these for various things. They say ‘if this test/predicate expression is true, then the profile value is true" and where they are applied they mean something like "do this/make this apply/make this object exist if the profile is true". With USB dongles, the Firebrick has built in failover awareness, so the failover rules are predefined so you don’t have to do anything or understand profiles.

I may have a problem with MTU though. Can this device handle PPP MTU 1508 bytes for PPP+PPPoE ? My 3G USB NIC currently fragments IPv4 packets because the IP MTU size remains at 1500 bytes, and the stupid IP MTU is something like 1440 (iirc). I’ve set the IPv6 IP MTU to 1408 bytes permanently, regardless of failover mode, ie IP 1408 bytes even in normal non-failover mode. This is because the carrier doesn’t support IPv6 so I have to have the additional overhead of a 20 byte IPv4 header for AA’s 6in4 tunnel, proto-41 static (ie. IPv6 in IPv4 straight tunnelling). That will remain the case and I will still have to have a reduced MTU for IPv6 unless the service can cope with a PPP MTU of 1528 bytes in larger baby jumbo PPP PDUs.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38300
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2022, 10:23:31 PM »

You go to 2. Change the green switch from on to off.
You then go to the top right and change the mode from router to bridge.

https://tunkkaamo.cloud/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/image.png

Ah, now I see it. A GUI based switch. Thank you.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

meritez

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1634
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2022, 10:28:08 PM »

So what @burakkucat and myself want to know is how many of these signal bars are lit with the A&A sim in?
https://openwrt.org/_detail/media/zte/mf286d/mf286d-1.jpg

I'm sure you could power it by USB if you wanted to.
Logged

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 11459
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 4x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2022, 01:08:40 AM »

I will soon have an answer for you. Came with a mains PSU.
Logged

meritez

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1634
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2022, 10:26:28 AM »

Bump  ::)
Logged

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 11459
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 4x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2022, 11:12:33 AM »

Am trying to get my wife to help me. She’s exhausted and keeps postponing my request half an hour. I want to see the signal strength.
Logged

meritez

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1634
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2022, 02:32:27 PM »

Yes, signal strength would be good to know.
Logged

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 11459
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 4x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2022, 03:31:45 PM »

Signal strength shows ‘max’ on the display so Janet says. I tried to connect to it at 192.168.1.1 but couldn’t get any response. Couldn’t ping it. I’m thinking that I shall need to factory-reset it perhaps. Can’t think of what else to do. Port 1 is marked as LAN/WAN but I’m assuming that it is only an ethernet WAN port if so configured, not by default, but just in case I tried an ethernet cable into port 2 instead. What have I missed? (I’m hardly new to this game. :) )
Logged

meritez

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1634
Re: Interfacing ZTE MF286D to Firebrick
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2022, 03:55:53 PM »

I'd reset, if you cannot connect via the wifi name on the bottom of it, or via ethernet cable.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9