Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Getting ready for multigig  (Read 767 times)

Reformed

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
Getting ready for multigig
« on: March 18, 2022, 12:12:47 AM »

Greets everyone. I was wondering if people had suggestions for equipment to use to get our home ready to make the most of >1 Gbps services?

WiFi 6e looks to be a big expense. I was thinking about switches with at least 2 SFP+ ports. Most equipment in the home is wireless or GigE.

As part of this I've also started taking maintaining and managing the network more seriously. It now has LibreNMS along with ntopng fed by nProbe running on it.

With the amount of Internet of gack devices running on it from Amazon's finest to CCTV and meaty desktops to the pair of Pis providing DNS and DHCP it seemed beyond time to work out what is actually connected to what.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4071
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2022, 05:56:16 AM »

Its generally a bad time for it, the silicon shortage is still in force.
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Celeron N5105) + CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Reformed

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2022, 11:29:43 PM »

Had a busy few days. Network is 10G but has a couple of single points of failure. A secondary route to build a dual spine is on tomorrow's list.

After that leaf switches. Awaiting stock.

I'm totally going to forget to enable RSTP and loop things senseless.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2022, 11:32:11 PM by Reformed »
Logged

Reformed

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2022, 11:12:36 PM »

Logical diagram attached. Nice and simple given there are 3 routers. I like throwing hardware at things.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 36368
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2022, 11:38:22 PM »

Thank you. I always like a nice diagram.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10989
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2022, 03:21:20 AM »

A stupid question. I donít understand this stuff at all. What do you do about IP addresses in your own ASes?  Do you have PI space?
Logged

Reformed

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2022, 11:16:41 AM »

I'm not advertising them anywhere else and they are from the private range. 64512-65534 are the private AS numbers.

EDIT: Each of them advertise a default gateway, withdrawn if their ISP link goes. One of them advertises a routed /29. Two of them advertise a couple of other subnets.

The router that'll take the YouFibre link, the main one, will be routing out to the Internet only. Flows to the networks connected to the other routers will see the first packet from the home LAN go to the primary and it'll respond with an ICMP redirect pointing them to the appropriate router.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2022, 09:23:10 PM by Reformed »
Logged

Reformed

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2022, 01:05:54 AM »

Okay the switch I needed arrives over the weekend. New WiFi 6e access point in.

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10989
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2022, 03:19:45 AM »

May I ask what the WAP is? (Did you mention it earlier?)
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4071
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2022, 03:36:40 AM »

Okay the switch I needed arrives over the weekend. New WiFi 6e access point in.

I wasn't aware any had come to market that weren't an absolutely absurd price.

I want WiFi 6e but at more than double the price of WiFi 6, its not worth it, especially with Apple making the odd choice of only putting WiFi 6 in the Macbook M1 Pro.

My gaming laptop is 6e capable in theory as I put an AX210 in there, but not sure how the antennas will handle it nor do I use that machine much any more.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2022, 03:39:05 AM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Celeron N5105) + CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Reformed

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2022, 03:12:44 AM »

Okay. In part due to the quarantine boredom work complete. The 2 rooms with wired equipment and low needs have 10G to the core. The core is a 4 switch 10G throughout mesh. The primary Internet connection has 2 10G links into LAN, the backup router 10G and 2.5G.

Most of this is active:standby to keep traffic flows sensible alongside there being no need for >10, however a move to 20G is doable - there are spare switch ports available to bond and 20G between the core switch pairs.

With some port space to upgrade to move capacity to 20G when required with some bonding.

A bunch of rearranging and recabling was done overnight while there was no-one to infect. £500 spent on a bargainous switch and importing special fibre cabling from Spain and Texas.

At least I achieved something while the nasty has been doing its work.

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10989
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2022, 05:55:52 AM »

Oh no, sorry to hear youíve been quarantined. As you said, at least you got something done.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 36368
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2022, 04:50:38 PM »

£500 spent on a bargainous switch and importing special fibre cabling from Spain and Texas.

The curious has to ask for more details, please. The switch make/model and what is special about the Spanish & Texan fibre cables?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Reformed

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2022, 07:24:49 PM »

The cable is white and depending on which 1mm thick and very flexible or 3mm thick and armoured to resist cats. It's bizarrely difficult to get white single mode fibre with connectors already attached.

I purchased a Xyzel XGS1210-12 which in turn freed up a 4 x SFP+ switch.

The rest of the cost was SFPs and a couple of rack mounted trays to hold switches and an ONU.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 36368
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Getting ready for multigig
« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2022, 07:30:48 PM »

. . . or 3mm thick and armoured to resist cats.

Meow! 

Quote
It's bizarrely difficult to get white single mode fibre with connectors already attached.

Agreed. If only your colour scheme was yellow.  ;)

Quote
I purchased a Xyzel XGS1210-12 which in turn freed up a 4 x SFP+ switch.

The rest of the cost was SFPs and a couple of rack mounted trays to hold switches and an ONU.

Thank you. Curiosity has now abated.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything