Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Looking back from the mainland to Heasta  (Read 1003 times)

Weaver

• Senior Kitizen
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 4x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Looking back from the mainland to Heasta
« on: December 20, 2021, 09:16:07 PM »

I believe that this was taken from the top of Ladhar-Bheinn, a mountain on the mainland, which I look at from my bedroom window every day.

Ladhar is Gaelic for ‘hoof’ which is very apparent for looking at the shape of the peak. This shot is taken from the almost inaccessible Cnòideart region of the mainland, where the only way in is a very long walk or a short ferry ride from Mallaig across the sea-loch to the otherwise inaccessible village of Inbhir Idhe, a village I have never been to, I’m afraid, and which has no road. When I was a student at https://www.smo.uhi.ac.uk, I used to look across the sea towards Cnòideart and this mountain.

We are looking west to Skye and the cloud hides the sea. The nearest and lowest hill on Skye will be Beinn nan Càrn, which is right behind my house; my house lies on the slope of it facing east. My house and all of the Skye lower hills are under the cloud.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2021, 09:48:32 PM by Weaver »

burakkucat

• Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Looking back from the mainland to Heasta
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2021, 10:23:10 PM »

Interesting.  :)

I had to make use of Google Maps to see the spatial relationship of the mentioned locations.
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

jelv

• Helpful
  • Kitizen
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2021, 11:03:29 PM »