Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP  (Read 2290 times)

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« on: December 10, 2021, 09:40:19 AM »

You may find this tutorial on setting the Zyxel VMG's up into bridged mode (to use as modem only) useful

https://kitz.co.uk/routers/zyxel_VMG8324-B10A_bridge.htm

OLD TOPIC I know - but as I have the 8924-B10A - what are the setup parameters from BT SM2 for PON/BT900..? is it literally my username and password for BT? is it the same PPPoE with the same parameters etc?

Just I'd like to know just in case I use mine in replacement of the SM2

thanks
Logged
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73

burakkucat

  • Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38300
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2021, 03:54:52 PM »

OLD TOPIC I know - but as I have the 8924-B10A - what are the setup parameters from BT SM2 for PON/BT900..? is it literally my username and password for BT? is it the same PPPoE with the same parameters etc?

You'll be using your ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A as just a router. The modem "at the front" won't be used. Pretend that you are configuring it for a VDSL2 (FTTC) service and you can't go wrong.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2021, 08:26:19 PM »

You'll be using your ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A as just a router. The modem "at the front" won't be used. Pretend that you are configuring it for a VDSL2 (FTTC) service and you can't go wrong.

it was programmed for PPPoE VDSL2 Plusnet (using the settings on this site), should i just put my BT creds in place of the Plusnet creds ad Im good to go? What's the MTU, please? as I set it in the router too.

thanks BK  :)
« Last Edit: December 11, 2021, 08:28:28 PM by snadge »
Logged
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73

burakkucat

  • Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38300
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2021, 09:04:56 PM »

it was programmed for PPPoE VDSL2 Plusnet (using the settings on this site), should i just put my BT creds in place of the Plusnet creds ad Im good to go? What's the MTU, please?

Yes, PPPoE and use your BT service credentials. The MTU should be 1500.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

RealAleMadrid

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 307
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2021, 07:45:46 AM »

@Snadge As Burakkucat has said you won't be using the modem which will mean the ethernet WAN port will be used to connect to the Openreach ONT, The WAN configuration may need to be changed to enable this. Have a look at the Network Setting > Broadband menu "Add a New WAN Interface". If ETHWAN is already present you can just delete the ADSL and VDSL entries as they are not required. If ETHWAN is not already configured it will need to be added as a PPPoE ethernet connection with no VLAN id as that is done in the ONT.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5335
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2021, 04:51:02 PM »

I very much doubt its got the beef to route that fast.
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Intel N100) + Huawei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
Switches: Netgear MS510TXUP, Netgear MS510TXPP, Netgear GS110EMX My Broadband History & Ping Monitors

RealAleMadrid

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 307
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2021, 06:11:27 PM »

I was wondering that myself, I very much doubt that it can cope with the processing demands of PPPoE on a 900Mbs FTTP service.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5335
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2021, 06:29:55 PM »

I was wondering that myself, I very much doubt that it can cope with the processing demands of PPPoE on a 900Mbs FTTP service.

I doubt it can NAT that fast, let alone PPP.

Some routers (cough Home Hub 5) can't even bridge fast enough to max out their WiFi.  They tend to really penny pinch with router SoCs and especially DSL where you're lucky if it goes much over the max speed of the DSL modem.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2021, 06:33:20 PM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Intel N100) + Huawei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
Switches: Netgear MS510TXUP, Netgear MS510TXPP, Netgear GS110EMX My Broadband History & Ping Monitors

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2021, 02:13:38 PM »

thanks BK I'll give it a shot as this is going nowhere, then after Christmas and New Year I will start looking to buy a Draytek or whatever is recommended that works with PON via WAN ports

well i phoned BT:

firstly, BT's website when opting out (14th November i opted out) - said "this takes just a few days to turn off"

when I called weeks later:

rep 1: I dont know I'll ask, 7 days
rep 2: I've never heard of a hotspot?
rep 3: don't know I'll ask, 28 days
rep 4: 28 days
rep 5: 31 days (because it had now been 29 days lol)
rep 6: disable your wifi - (it is still there while all your wi-fi is not broadcasting, and I need my wifi)

It has been 32 days since I "opted out" - others on BT forums have said it has remained for them too after "opting out" months ago - so I'm not alone here, there is obviously an issue with BT's systems somewhere, OR, they just point blank refuse to turn them off.

So its looking like a new router route after new year.
Logged
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73

tubaman

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 12829
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2021, 05:32:23 PM »

...

It has been 32 days since I "opted out" - others on BT forums have said it has remained for them too after "opting out" months ago - so I'm not alone here, there is obviously an issue with BT's systems somewhere, OR, they just point blank refuse to turn them off.

So its looking like a new router route after new year.

Or just ignore the BT wifi as it really isn't a security risk.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2022, 02:04:56 PM »

Well I attempted it and got nowhere, setup as a new ETH PPoE connection dont know what my BT password was, so i just tried bthomehub@btbroadband.com as username and it wouldnt let me use an empty password box so I tried admin, BT my password for BT, etc and got nowhere, looks like im gunna have to fork out, i just dont like using any ISPs own equipment, im looking at the ASUS RT-AC88U as a possible replacement... as that seems to be one of the most popular replacements (for this service) on various other forums too...

unless anybody else knows of anyone getting one of these zyxel 8924's to work with BT900

thank again.
Logged
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73

meritez

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1650
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2022, 02:52:39 PM »

Password BT
Logged

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 977
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2022, 03:53:01 PM »

Password can be anything, its not checked and only needed if the device you are using needs something entering.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4106
Re: Using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A With BT900 FTTP
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2022, 04:40:32 PM »

Successfully had more than 1 8924 running on BT FTTP.

It's just the default username and password that's used on BT FTTC.
PPPoE
bthomehub@btbroadband.com
Password: BT
No VLANs need setting.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM