Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: will changing the BT smarthub 2 disable BT HotSpot?  (Read 1469 times)

snadge

• Kitizen
will changing the BT smarthub 2 disable BT HotSpot?
« on: December 08, 2021, 09:48:31 PM »

Hi all

I've been on the phone 3 times to BT (what total noobs compared to Plusnet and Sky etc) as the modem and router have been on at 3-4am for weeks now, and BT WIFI and BT WIFI-X still remain, i was told 3 days, 7 days, 28 days twice (once on phone by a staff member) and that they had never ever heard of them and tried to get me to disable my wi-fi when it remains on regardless, and I told them I need the wi-fi???

I couldn't help but think 28 days, isn't that handy, when the law says you are stuck with a product you have purchased hehe!

would a change of router to something more powerful on the 5Ghz (as BT SM2 wifi are rubbish, at 6ft over 5Ghz on a clear channel i get 60Mbps lol) , 4 x GBIT LAN and can have VPN ran through it, but not necessary - must get out this ISP router crop :(
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73

licquorice

• Reg Member
Re: will changing the BT smarthub 2 disable BT HotSpot?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2021, 09:52:59 PM »

BT wifi is only transmitted from BT hubs, if you use a third party router the BT wifi signal will not be transmitted whether you are opted in or out.

burakkucat

• Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2021, 10:32:38 PM »

. . . if you use a third party router the BT wifi signal will not be transmitted whether you are opted in or out.

Agreed. A change in the CPE will be the simplest solution.
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.