Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on  (Read 2422 times)

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« on: November 29, 2021, 02:13:49 PM »

Hi everyone,

as you know I am now on PON900 and was advised by J0hn on how to disable the hotspot, as I have no use for anyone else's hotspot (my mobile DATA is unlimited), and I don't want mine used to download illegal pornographic material, or buying weapons, or using stolen credit cards etc!! and even if BT knows it's not me I still don't want anyone using it - they could do ANYTHING, hack into the hub then into my system & drop a RAT??!!  - to me, it's an INVITATION for hackers and SHOULD be disabled by those who do NOT want to share their 900PON broadband with complete strangers!!

unfortunately, it is still turned ON over a week later (it did say it may take a couple of days to turn off - but I'm sure its been over a week now and its still there), and it is mine.

here is a screenshot that shows to SET UP as if it is disabled? I have BT Wifi-X and BTWiFi both unlocked, both full strength signal, top of the list, all others are Sky, Plusnet & Talk Talk - there are some distant BT signals (with their hotspots OFF!!) on very low signals 1/5 bars - but mine are 5/5 bars - 100% signal, and using software on the mobile I can see its coming from my router due to the strengths of all the signals.



can anybody help, please?

thanks in advance
Logged
BT900 - Direct Fibre from the pole, no e-NTE

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4111
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2021, 02:38:39 PM »

Have you tried completely powering off for a few minutes then powering back on?

I'd figure that might force it to re-provision the router configuration.
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Celeron N5105) + CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 915
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2021, 02:57:40 PM »

BT wifi is totally independent of your network and you are not in any way responsible for any use that is made of it, nor is it a security risk to your network. It can take up to 28 days for it to be turned off.
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2021, 03:00:42 PM »

Have you tried completely powering off for a few minutes then powering back on?

I'd figure that might force it to re-provision the router configuration.

yeah i left it on the first 2 nights for updates, now all my plugs get switched off at night, as i believe i have one of the 5 out of 9 faulty UK Smart Energy Meters (tested in Sweden but would not give out the names of suppliers)

- my energy bills were through the roof (£4.50 one day when i was out at work!! nothing was on all plugs were off and in the evening i had the heating on for 30 minutes!!) I wrap up now instead!!!, then i started turning off all plugs and it was OK - it's something to do with 2 components in the smart meters that are faulty and misread the 'phase' of the electric as this is how they work out your usage in the home, you are billed from your smart meter!!

anyway thanks Alex, I will get onto BT forums and get BT staff too look at it for me,

thanks again for your help.

@ licquorice- it said "a few days" not 28 days - if it took as long as that, then it would have said so i would have thought?
Logged
BT900 - Direct Fibre from the pole, no e-NTE

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 915
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2021, 03:45:43 PM »

If you are turning your hub off at night, how do you expect BT is going to push the update to turn off BT wifi to your hub?
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2021, 03:48:10 PM »

If you are turning your hub off at night, how do you expect BT is going to push the update to turn off BT wifi to your hub?


as i said, i left it on for a few days, also its on all day and night, its at their end and the "push" should/could be at anytime - why should i leave my router on for a MONTH to disable one simple option

i think its time for the new router!
Logged
BT900 - Direct Fibre from the pole, no e-NTE

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2021, 03:54:12 PM »

If you are turning your hub off at night, how do you expect BT is going to push the update to turn off BT wifi to your hub?

ok - it said it would take a few days, it was left on for a few days for updates and this issue. now you're saying it's a MONTH it needs to be left on for -im trying to get answers out of BT - who seem uninterested and MOVED my topic from FIBRE BROADBAND to a board that is rarely active and unrelated! says a lot!
Logged
BT900 - Direct Fibre from the pole, no e-NTE

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2021, 05:42:04 PM »

OK, so I called BT and spoke to a lovely scotch lady who was very helpful, but now BT are saying it could take UPTO a week

so which is it Liqourice>?
1) 2-3 days?
2) a week?
3) 28 days?

Clueless in my very honest opinion!

I will educate you once i get a reply from the letter I've just written!
because that forum you like to follow people around on, is as much use as a chocolate fireguard!!
« Last Edit: November 29, 2021, 05:45:31 PM by snadge »
Logged
BT900 - Direct Fibre from the pole, no e-NTE

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 41664
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2021, 06:21:00 PM »

Calm it down, please guys.
Logged
  Eric

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9811
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2021, 06:27:06 PM »

1. The hub is designed to be left on 24/7 and uses very little power.
2. As said by others BT WiFi is totally independent of your side of the router so it doesn't matter what people download using it and there has never been the slightest hint that it could be used as a backdoor into the router.

Given the above I'd leave the router on and just wait until BT wifi is disabled (which it will be eventually).
 :)

On a side note, where did you hear that 5/9 smart meters are faulty as I would have thought it'd be all over the news if that were the case. I had one fitted back in May and it seems to be telling me I'm using the same amount of electricity as my old spinning wheel type meter did, which is exactly what I'd expect.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 915
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2021, 07:18:32 PM »

OK, so I called BT and spoke to a lovely scotch lady who was very helpful, but now BT are saying it could take UPTO a week

so which is it Liqourice>?
1) 2-3 days?
2) a week?
3) 28 days?

Clueless in my very honest opinion!

I will educate you once i get a reply from the letter I've just written!
because that forum you like to follow people around on, is as much use as a chocolate fireguard!!
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2354
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2021, 07:43:58 PM »

Turning it off hasn't worked for me for years, since I got the last hub.

Previously I managed to turn it off.

These days the router always seems to say active even when I set it to off on the website.

It's annoying that its setup in the way that it is, not very customer friendly. But I guess they made a calculation to make it difficult to turn off in the hope most people either 1. don't notice, or 2. give up the process.

The only other way to not have it active is to use a different router. I'm not on FF yet so I'm not sure of the router options.

Btw, sometimes you have to turn it on at the website, leave it for a few days, and then turn it back off. That sometimes works. I don't think the website and the routers are fully in sync.
Logged
BT Full Fibre 500 - Smart Hub 2

meritez

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1212
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2021, 07:51:17 PM »


as i said, i left it on for a few days, also its on all day and night, its at their end and the "push" should/could be at anytime - why should i leave my router on for a MONTH to disable one simple option

i think its time for the new router!

It maybe time for a new router.
By disabling BT WiFi Hotspot you're removing yourself from being able to use them as part of your contract.
It can take up to 28 days for BT to fully remove your account from the WiFi hotspot account system.
Have they disabled parental controls as well?
Logged

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 915
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2021, 08:49:28 PM »

How do I stop my BT router being a hotspot?

If you want to stop your BT router for being a hotspot for other people, then you can do so in your BT account. Just head over to the My Extras section, where you can opt out from having your router being part of the BT Wifi network.

Bear in mind that if you do decide to do this, then you won’t be able to use BT Wifi yourself when you’re out and about. Plus, it won’t happen overnight – it could take up to a month for you to be disconnected from the service officially.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3632
Re: Disabled BT Wifi Hotspot - and its still on
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2021, 10:25:58 PM »

As someone who will shortly be in this situation I am wondering if I need to have wi-fi enabled on the BT router? My reason is that I use the BT Whole Home system with 3 discs to get wi-fi round my house properly, my house is over 100 years old and has quite thick walls. My current set up does not use the router wi-fi as it does not work well enough. Obviously my Whole Home system will not be available via the router to the outside unless you have the correct credentials and currently only family members have that information. Do I have the capability to disable wi-fi on the BT supplied router?

Stuart
Logged
ISP:BT Router:BT Smart Hub 2 Connection:FTTP
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

anything