Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?  (Read 550 times)

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 307
Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?
« on: December 07, 2021, 08:53:12 AM »

I purchased one of KJW's Draytek 2762s about six months ago, which I have been using connected to a Netgear Orbi router.

He's left it configured as he had it apart from clearing out some personal configuration stuff, so I just plugged it in in place of one of my Zyxel VMG1312-B10As and away it went.

I am highly delighted with it.  Sure I have lost my DSLStats data, but actually I have a modem that syncs slightly better with something like a third of the errors on my EDI line.

I've not had a lot of time to play with it since, but decided to do a factory reset and check out the manual.

KJW had it configured with the WAN Connection set to PPoA/PPoE and that worked. (see screenshot 1)

Looking at the manual, led me to think that it really ought to be set up in Bridge mode, so have now made the MPoA / Static or Dynamic page active.  It seems to work just as well with either Bridge mode or Full Bridge mode active.  I think the only difference between the two is that Full Bridge mode should be used when the ISP requires VLAN tags, but don't fully understand what that means in the real world.  My current settings are shown in screenshot 2.

Is anybody able to offer any guidance on the optimal setting for Draytek routers used in modem only mode?

Many thanks for your help.
 
« Last Edit: December 07, 2021, 03:02:01 PM by jaydub »
Logged

meritez

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1124
Re: Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2021, 09:37:30 AM »

Screenshots seem to be missing?
Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 307
Re: Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2021, 03:04:55 PM »

Screenshots seem to be missing?

Thanks, Meritez.  They do don't they!  Less haste required.  Now rectified.
Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 307
Re: Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2021, 03:27:36 PM »

Does anybody have any advice or thoughts on the best configuration option and the difference between bridge and full bridge mode?

I am not finding the manual that helpful.

Thanks.
Logged

Edinburgh_lad

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2021, 08:21:45 PM »

Hi

Have a look at this: https://www.draytek.com/support/knowledge-base/5705

The full bridge mode effectively means VLAN ID to gain Internet access.

As all Draytek routers have more-less the same features, you can use guides from other models to set yours up. Here's a link to 'bridge mode' KBD:

https://faq.draytek.com.au/2020/12/04/how-to-setup-dsl-vdsl-adsl-bridge-mode-on-vigor2860/

or these ones:

https://www.draytek.co.uk/support/guides/kb-vigor-130-bridge

https://www.draytek.com/support/knowledge-base/5212

There's a dedicated Draytek UK forum, too.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2021, 10:15:11 PM by Edinburgh_lad »
Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 307
Re: Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2021, 12:07:51 AM »

Thanks Edinburgh Lad for a useful collection of articles.

I'd found the Vigor 165 article before, but couldn't get my head around whether I would ever need the VLAN capability that Full Bridge mode offers.  Are there any use cases for using this in the UK?
Logged

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10806
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2021, 12:31:42 AM »

About VLANs, are VLANs used with DSL for some IP TV services? Services where TV is transmitted via ethernet separately from familiar IP traffic and probably at higher priority. Is this correct?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3864
Re: Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2021, 12:41:29 AM »

Openreach tag all VDSL2 traffic with 802.1q VLAN 101.
This is required for the connection to work.

They also use 802.1p traffic priority marking for things like VOIP traffic.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10806
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Best Configuration of a Draytek 2762 in Modem only mode?
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2021, 02:13:12 AM »

Thanks J0hn, was trying to remember; we are in agreement. BT IP TV for example and BT VOIP both of which require a special ethernet-speaking router, a box branded "BT <something>" rather than just a generic IP router. So users using BT as the ISP and using these over-ethernet BT TV and voice services as opposed to IP services, these would be common uk use cases.
Logged
 

anything