Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Maximising my speed (Three 4G)  (Read 1175 times)

DaveC

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Maximising my speed (Three 4G)
« Reply #30 on: November 14, 2021, 10:48:10 AM »

I'm a bit confused with that list.  What is the meaning of "A" and "C" after the band numbers?

Does that mean the B535 can do carrier aggregation for upload, but only within the same band?

When I select band 3 primary and band 1 secondary, I am seeing 4G+ displayed in the webui, and if I select band 3 only, it drops to "4G".  Is that confirmation that download aggregation is happening?
Logged

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 827
Re: Maximising my speed (Three 4G)
« Reply #31 on: November 14, 2021, 01:19:27 PM »

https://www.sqimway.com/lte_ca_band.php

Details on LTE ca band attached, if you choose band 20 do you see 4G+?

Quote
CA bandwidth class
ATBC
Aggregated Transmission Bandwidth Configuration
NRB,agg
Number of aggregated resource blocks within the fully allocated Aggregated Channel bandwidth
Class   ATBC   Maximum
number of CC
NRB,agg   MHz
A   N <= 100   20   1
B   25 < N <= 100   20   2
C   100 < N <= 200   40   2
D   200 < N <= 300   60   3
E   300 < N <= 400   80   4
F   400 < N <= 500   100   5
I   700 < N <= 800   160   8
Example class A = aggregated Tx BW for Class A cannot be greater than 20MHz, limited to 1 component carrier (CC) in the band

36.331 : The UE shall not transmit the field "Combination Set" for a CA band combination for which the UE only supports Bandwidth Combination Set 0

Logged

DaveC

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Maximising my speed (Three 4G)
« Reply #32 on: November 14, 2021, 06:41:15 PM »

If I select band 20 by itself, or 20 + 1,  then no - I just see "4G".  If I select 20+3 then yes, that's 4G+
Logged

DaveC

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Maximising my speed (Three 4G)
« Reply #33 on: November 18, 2021, 08:33:28 AM »

OK, I think I finally understand this.  As meritez posted in his list of band combinations, the B535 supports Band 32 (1400/1500MHz) but only when paired with band 20 (800MHz) as the primary (upload) band.  This combination is giving between about 80-110Mbits/s downloads, but only about 5Mbits/s upload (band 20 is only 5MHz).  I've tested other combinations, and they don't work.

This (B20+B32) seems to be the combination the modem locks onto when in auto mode.

I've also tried bridge mode, and strangely the options in the webui to lock to specific bands (under "Mobile Network Searching") are disabled, and the modem only ever seems to be in "4G" mode, not "4G+", which seems a very strange limitation.  Trying to lock the bands via the API appears to crash the device.  So I'll be leaving it in router mode.
Logged

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 827
Re: Maximising my speed (Three 4G)
« Reply #34 on: November 18, 2021, 12:16:38 PM »

That's an impressive speed.

Logged

DaveC

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Maximising my speed (Three 4G)
« Reply #35 on: November 18, 2021, 02:20:39 PM »

That's an impressive speed.

For download, yes, but not the upload, which I care about just as much. 

Would anyone know if the ability to only aggregate B32 wth B20 is a limitation of my device (B535-232), or is it a limitation of Three (or my particiular mast) ?
Logged

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 827
Re: Maximising my speed (Three 4G)
« Reply #36 on: November 18, 2021, 02:57:40 PM »

For download, yes, but not the upload, which I care about just as much. 

Would anyone know if the ability to only aggregate B32 with B20 is a limitation of my device (B535-232), or is it a limitation of Three (or my particular mast) ?

Bit of both,
Three UK has bands 28, 20, 32, 3 and 1, or 700mhz, 800mhz, 1400mhz, 1800mhz and 2100mhz for 4G
Band 32 is only ever used as an aggregate band by 3 UK, and the B535-232 can only aggregate it with Band 8 or Band 20, and 3 UK does not offer Band 8.
A 3CA device would be able to aggregate band 3+ band 20+ band 32, or band 1+ band 3+ band 32 or band 1+ band 20+ band 32.

Vodafone UK can aggregate Band 8 + Band 32.

The other issue is the B535-232 can only aggregate certain bands on upload:
Code: [Select]
UL CA: 1C , 3C , 7C , 38CUp Load Carrier Aggregate on 3 UK using the B535-232 is limited to Bands 1 or 3, and for whatever reason the B535 is limited to uploading on the same band it has chosen for primary download.

Where to go, either try a different mobile network, or look for a more powerful device, cat12 as a minimum would be my suggestion.



Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

anything