Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared  (Read 2034 times)

Jon21

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2021, 01:08:57 AM »

Is that stranded copper cable thatís just been twisted together? Canít help but think that your asking for trouble there when it inevitably falls apart. Nice use of the food waste bin though as a stand/table/shelf.
Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2021, 01:12:50 AM »

Yes twister together for now as I will ask my friend to soldering it together one day.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3711
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2021, 02:10:56 AM »

Yes twister together for now as I will ask my friend to soldering it together one day.

LOL! Noooo!
IDC connections, a couple gel crimps would do.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3332
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #18 on: October 31, 2021, 02:32:28 AM »

LOL! Noooo!
IDC connections, a couple gel crimps would do.

Or, you know, just buy a short pre--made twister-pair cable.

Honestly I don't see the point though considering he is going to downgrade the service when the contract runs out.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Lebara 4G, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8786
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #19 on: October 31, 2021, 02:22:45 PM »

Why are you fiddling around with a twisted together cable that's likely to cause you problems. Just use the one supplied with the router and leave it alone. At this speed if it loses you a couple of meg it really doesn't matter.
You really are your own worst enemy at times Max!
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34873
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #20 on: October 31, 2021, 02:47:58 PM »

D'oh!
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #21 on: October 31, 2021, 02:52:36 PM »

Went back to normal dsl cable now. The two twisted cable are now in the bin
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34873
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #22 on: October 31, 2021, 03:22:58 PM »

Went back to normal dsl cable now. The two twisted cable are now in the bin

Good. That is sensible.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #23 on: October 31, 2021, 05:17:25 PM »

Good. That is sensible.

Nice table! My mum brought me year ago. 1metre high speed dsl cable from tandy online few years ago as I use that for FTTC and G.fast now.

Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #24 on: November 02, 2021, 02:50:29 AM »

My line went down for 20 minutes and come back on. I can see the G.fast dslam software version has changed.

Code: [Select]
DSLAM type / SW version: BDCM:0xc190 (193.145) / v0xc190
Modem/router firmware:  AnnexA version - A2pvfbH043q.d26u
DSL mode:                G.fast 106 MHz
Status:                  Showtime
Uptime:                  0 hour 2 min 10 sec
Resyncs:                1 (since 02 Nov 2021 02:42:06)

Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  30.6 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): 30.6 0.0
Connection speed (kbps): 329999 49999
SNR margin (dB):        2.9 2.9
Power (dBm):            0.0 4.1
Interleave depth:        2.0 1.0
INP:                    551.00 607.00
G.INP:                  Enabled Enabled
Vectoring status:        Enabled Enabled

RSCorr/RS (%):          0.0010 0.0022
RSUnCorr/RS (%):        0.0000 0.0000
ES/hour:                0 0
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3332
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #25 on: November 02, 2021, 05:24:23 AM »

More interesting is that its now correctly reporting interleave depth, G.INP and Vectoring.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Lebara 4G, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3711
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #26 on: November 02, 2021, 11:02:24 AM »

DSL Mode also now showing as "G.fast 106 MHz" rather than just "G"
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 504
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #27 on: November 02, 2021, 02:51:26 PM »

Nice table! My mum brought me year ago. 1metre high speed dsl cable from tandy online few years ago as I use that for FTTC and G.fast now.

Just move the table closer to the socket!
Logged
Sky + AAISP FTTC ~ 130/34 combined @ 3dB HG612's
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 7 on i8700K

maxheadroom

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #28 on: November 02, 2021, 05:42:45 PM »

Or stop chasing the ultimate speed go back to 80/20 stop doing speed tests and enjoy life.
Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: Openreach fixed G.fast due to incorrect DP pair shared
« Reply #29 on: November 05, 2021, 07:08:46 PM »

Got new dsl cable 10cm length. Happy with it overall. Will use that for my current G.fast then FTTC 40/10.



[attachment deleted by admin]
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
 

anything