Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Firebrick VoIP  (Read 622 times)

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 11051
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Firebrick VoIP
« on: October 24, 2021, 06:57:44 PM »

If you have a Firebrick router, for example, why does one (possibly) need to use your Firebrick as a VoIP gateway ? Or is this not necessary? I wonder if this function is needed by those people who suffer from NAT, is that correct ? And since I donít use NAT at all, I just have a hole in my firewall open towards my ISP, AAís VoIP server and let traffic from there come in straight to my Siemens N300IP VoIP box. Is that a valid approach?
Logged

DaveC

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
Re: Firebrick VoIP
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2021, 07:26:38 PM »

Yes, I think the main reason is to avoid NAT - if you can give your N300IP a public IP, then no need to use the Firebrick. 

It does also offer some basic PBX features, mainly designed around a amall office scenario.
Logged

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 11051
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Firebrick VoIP
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2021, 07:52:12 PM »

I was having some difficulty get it going, but this means that at least my basic approach is not insane. The N300 has a globally routable IPv4 address. Iíll ask AA to help me get it sorted out.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 36437
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Firebrick VoIP
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2021, 07:53:04 PM »

. . . since I donít use NAT at all, I just have a hole in my firewall open towards my ISP, AAís VoIP server and let traffic from there come in straight to my Siemens N300IP VoIP box. Is that a valid approach?

Yes, that appears to be a viable method. Just make sure that the N300IP is using the latest released firmware image.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

DaveC

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
Re: Firebrick VoIP
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2021, 08:21:49 PM »

I was having some difficulty get it going, but this means that at least my basic approach is not insane. The N300 has a globally routable IPv4 address. Iíll ask AA to help me get it sorted out.

It's quite well documented on their wiki.  Firstly, the N300 config:

https://support.aa.net.uk/VoIP_Phones_-_Gigaset_N300

and the required Firebrick rules to pass SIP traffic through to your N300's IP:

Code: [Select]
<rule name="SIP" source-ip="81.187.30.110-119 90.155.3.0/24 90.155.103.0/24" target-ip="1.2.3.4" target-port="5060" action="accept"/>
<rule name="RTP" source-ip="81.187.30.110-119 90.155.3.0/24 90.155.103.0/24" target-ip="1.2.3.4" target-port="1024-65535" protocol="17" action="accept"/>

(the above is taken from https://support.aa.net.uk/VoIP_Firewall#Example_FireBrick_Config - I've removed the ipv6 addresses as the N300 doesn't support it).
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4111
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Firebrick VoIP
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2021, 01:32:39 AM »

Yes, that appears to be a viable method. Just make sure that the N300IP is using the latest released firmware image.

Well that was scary, you reminded me to check so I triggered an update via the phone and it took AGES before the base station was available again.  I thought it had bricked.

After all that, it just updated from 42.250 (422500000000 / V42.00) to 42.259 (422590000000 / V42.00).

Can't find the changelog for the N300IP but the N510IP says:

Release date:

    July 2021
    Released for Professional and Retail devices

Improvements:

    XSI Broadsoft phonebook improvement
    Support of new handsets

BugFixes:

    Broadsoft CLIP/CNIP size
    Other minor bugfixes ...

Disappointed to see it hasn't added IPv6 support which would surely bypass a lot of this hassle?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2021, 01:37:03 AM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
Broadband: Zen Full Fibre 900 + Three 5G Routers: pfSense (Celeron N5105) + CPE Pro 2 H122-373 WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 11051
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Re: Firebrick VoIP
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2021, 06:19:33 AM »

The problem I had was that my wife couldnít get it talking to handsets. I set up the Firebrick so that AA can log into it remotely and scrutinise or fix things even.
Logged