Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A DHCP Problem  (Read 1095 times)

Ibex

• Just arrived
Zyxel VMG8924-B10A DHCP Problem
« on: September 29, 2021, 12:28:52 AM »

I've been using a Zyxel VMG8924-B10A for 4 years, ever since VDSL finally became available at our exchange. It's been super reliable, apart from a really annoying bug which has been present since the beginning and numerous firmware updates have failed to fix:

Periodically it refuses to assign DHCP IP addresses to one or more devices connected to the LAN.

Other devices connected to the network will work fine, but for some reason the router will randomly refuse to assign a network address to some devices. This happens even if the outer has been set to always assign the same IP address to that device. And any device on the network can be affected - computers, TVs & video recorders etc. But devices which have an IP address set manually and don't rely on DHCP are never affected.

Rebooting the router resolves the problem, but I would desperately like to try and find a solution. (It has become so annoying that I am reluctantly looking at having to replace this router.)

The network is a small home network with the usual assortment of computers, TVs etc. connected. I don't use the wireless networking on the router, everything is connected via Ethernet cable. (A separate wifi access point is used as & when required if a phone or tablet needs to connect to the network, but most of the time wifi is not used in the house at all.)

The problem can affect any device on the network (unless it has been assigned an IP address manually, as a workaround).