Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line  (Read 2289 times)

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #15 on: September 22, 2021, 09:30:24 AM »

The isp told me that all g fast must have vectoring as there is no way gfast can't run without it. But they told me possibilities the router isn't slow it but it still enabled on it. Anyway the line is back to INP 640 and 607 but weird as G.INP not enabled either.

Next door of mine has show me their router as they are with EE but it didn't metion any vectoring or G.INP at all but their sync are worse than mine. They now getting 102/14 but ee are sending out engineer today so they will tell me what is going on as ee told them their g fast has a fault.

My isp think could be down to my router fault but I declined it because it not just me also next door affect by it as well. The isp told me you need to put Openreach modem back in and will investigate it further because the engineer might charged you if they think the router are a fault.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2021, 09:33:51 AM by adslmax »
Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #16 on: September 22, 2021, 10:44:49 AM »

Updated:

This morning saw openreach engineer went next door, so I just popped over ask the neighbour what the engineer say about our issues last few days they say nothing wrong with it and they did resetted their G.fast to default. They told me the engineer say all houses by us all should easily getting 330/50 because the cabinet not far. They now getting 277/48.

Make me wondering why I was capped at 210/30 when the engineer last checked in May on my line but I remember he saying to me you should getting maximum speed from the cab easy to get 330/50.

Still leaving the router on.

Code: [Select]
xdslctl info --stats
xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    1
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 33727 Kbps, Downstream rate = 212360 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 33575 Kbps, Downstream rate = 209039 Kbps

Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   G.fast Annex A
TPS-TC:                 PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        3.4             3.1
Attn(dB):        38.7            0.0
Pwr(dBm):        0.0             4.1

                        G.fast framing
                        Bearer 0
R:              12              14
N:              221             210
Q:              5               4

L:              5848            4912
Lrmc:           0               0
Ldoi:           0               4928
Rrmc:           255             210
Drmc:           14              3

Mf:             36              36
M(ds/us):       29              6

MNDSNOI:        2               2
ackWindowShift: 11              2
Ldr:            4973            4088
etru:           203624          33266
ETRminEoc:      5852            0

                        Counters
                        Bearer 0
OHF:            7904189         188809
OHFErr:         0               0
RS:             1483816395              554612265
RSCorr:         68266           309057
RSUnCorr:       0               0

                        Retransmit Counters
rtx_tx:         7518            716
rtx_c:          6698            0
rtx_uc:         0               0

                        G.fast Counters
minEFTR:        197168          34568
errFreeBits:    144900436               25564839

NOI
BSW:            192/192         30854/30854
SRA:            4/4             120/120
FRA:            0/0             0/0
RPA:            0/0             3/3
TIGA:           84/84           0/0
DOI
BSW:            0/0             0/0
SRA:            0/0             0/0
FRA:            0/0             0/0
RPA:            0/0             0/0
TIGA:           0/0             0/0

eocBytes:       33554654                96031984
eocPkts:        1241153         338679
eocMsgs:        1241153         338679

                        Bearer 0
HEC:            0               0
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    19629786                8419184
Data Cells:     18388664                8080516
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0

LORS:           0               0
LOSS:           0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            237             237
AS:             47424

                        Bearer 0
INP:            640.00          607.00
INPRein:        10.00           2.00
delay:          0               0
PER:            0.00            468.94
OR:             459.59          163.73
AgR:            22035.76        18266.77

Total time = 13 hours 14 min 21 sec
FEC:            68266           309057
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            237             237
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FastRetr:       1
FailedRetr:     1
FailedFastRetr: 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 21 sec
FEC:            1508            5007
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FastRetr:       0
FailedRetr:     0
FailedFastRetr: 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC:            230             5563
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           N/A
HostInitRetr:   N/A
FastRetr:       N/A
FailedRetr:     N/A
FailedFastRetr: N/A
Latest 1 day time = 13 hours 14 min 21 sec
FEC:            68266           309057
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            237             237
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FastRetr:       1
FailedRetr:     1
FailedFastRetr: 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC:            0               0
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FastRetr:       0
FailedRetr:     0
FailedFastRetr: 0
Since Link time = 13 hours 10 min 23 sec
FEC:            68266           309057
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FastRetr:       0
FailedRetr:     0
FailedFastRetr: 0
NTR: mipsCntAtNtr=0 ncoCntAtNtr=0
ZySH>
« Last Edit: September 22, 2021, 11:21:13 AM by adslmax »
Logged

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1212
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #17 on: September 22, 2021, 10:48:07 AM »

I tend to agree with the ISP in that the vectoring, G.INP and INP values/states are likely not correct from the router's statistics/info output, at least at times. I wouldn't fully trust the INP, G.INP values and vectoring states as being always correct from your router for now. It's unfortunate the engineer didn't find a fault, but this could be intermittent and if it is then it may likely take some time for an engineer to find (if ever).
Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #18 on: September 22, 2021, 10:59:45 AM »

I have now asked the ISP to request Openreach to do DLM resetted remotely and see what happen.

Updated:

The ISP say no.

No, it's not possible to do remote DLM resets, this is the same for all Openreach based connections I'm afraid regardless of carrier.

We'll continue to monitor the line for you over the next few days.

But, I did told the ISP yes Openreach do this including G.fast see here: https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2020/10/openreach-give-uk-isps-more-control-of-broadband-dlm-profiles.html
« Last Edit: September 22, 2021, 11:36:48 AM by adslmax »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 41543
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #19 on: September 22, 2021, 11:59:45 AM »

I should point out that the vectoring status requires a unique command - xdslctl info --vectoring . Have you run this command to confirm that vectoring is not enabled?
Logged
  Eric

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 800
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #20 on: September 22, 2021, 12:09:12 PM »

I should point out that the vectoring status requires a unique command - xdslctl info --vectoring . Have you run this command to confirm that vectoring is not enabled?

Seems to be specific to VDSL on my Broadcom-based Zyxel:
Code: [Select]
ZySH> xdslctl info --vectoring
xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    1
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 54516 Kbps, Downstream rate = 390839 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 49961 Kbps, Downstream rate = 330053 Kbps

Currently not in VDSL modulation --vectoring is only for VDSL mode

Edit: Not aware of any way to view vectoring on G.fast connections. It is mandatory anyway, that I am aware of.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2021, 12:11:46 PM by re0 »
Logged
ISP: Zen - G.fast 330/50

Gigaclear FTTP for 2021? Maybe it's too late.

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #21 on: September 22, 2021, 12:12:33 PM »

Ah - I found it under Vectoring section on DSLStats

Code: [Select]
xdslctl info --vectoring
xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    1
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 33784 Kbps, Downstream rate = 212065 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 33632 Kbps, Downstream rate = 212360 Kbps

Currently not in VDSL modulation --vectoring is only for VDSL mode
ZySH>
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3870
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #22 on: September 22, 2021, 12:13:03 PM »

I guess it being mandatory means why bother telling you?  I mean it "kinda" makes sense, even if its confusing.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, 2xHauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 (VOXI 4G,Three 5G) Router: pfSense (Celeron N5105) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #23 on: September 22, 2021, 12:15:24 PM »

Good news the ISP has reply just now

Hi,

I can ask but previously been told it's a hard no without an engineer visit, which of course costs money.

The thing is as well, this won't really solve anything, it may temporarily uncap your speed but with increased error rates, then later DLM will simply add the tweaks in again to reduce the error counts.

I'll ask anyway for you and let you know.

Cheers
Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 800
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2021, 12:20:03 PM »

Unrelated, but does xdslctl info --vendor return the actual port number in use in ChipSet SerialNumber? If so, I am port 0. :)
Logged
ISP: Zen - G.fast 330/50

Gigaclear FTTP for 2021? Maybe it's too late.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3874
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2021, 12:22:06 PM »

In a few of the recently posted statistics there are three lines that "jump out at me" as not expected with a G.Fast circuit.

The first --

The second --

The third --

Puzzling.  :-\

That seems to be the case for all Broadcom chipsets with G.Fast lines.

They show G.INP: Not enabled but the stats clearly show Retransmit Counters, rtx_tx, etc, are very much active.

The Vectoring stats on Broadcoms also specifically state they are for VDSL only.

It should be safe to assume that G.INP and Vectoring are both active.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3874
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2021, 12:35:56 PM »

I have now asked the ISP to request Openreach to do DLM resetted remotely and see what happen.

Updated:

The ISP say no.

No, it's not possible to do remote DLM resets, this is the same for all Openreach based connections I'm afraid regardless of carrier.

We'll continue to monitor the line for you over the next few days.

But, I did told the ISP yes Openreach do this including G.fast see here: https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2020/10/openreach-give-uk-isps-more-control-of-broadband-dlm-profiles.html

That appears to be specifically for VDSL2.

Although Mark writes

Quote
The current DLM system is used to control the speed and stability of copper based broadband lines (ADSL, VDSL2, G.fast),

He's just lumping all technologies together because they all have a DLM.
The ADSL DLM isn't even run by OpenReach.

Providers need to pay to use that functionality, with the cost being split between all CP's who take up the option.

Your provider UnchainedISP is not a direct OpenReach customer.
They purchase from BT Wholesale or Talktalk Business and not directly from OpenReach.
If their supplier (BTw or TTB) have not taken up the option of paying for the advanced DLM controls then there's nothing they can do. I expect BTw and TTB would have taken up that option though

The briefings related to the above DLM tweaking make no mention of G.Fast. I believe they are only available for the VDSL2 DLM.

You must be a nightmare of a customer. There's no need to contact the ISP every single time your sync drops slightly.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2021, 01:32:26 PM by j0hn »
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2021, 12:53:28 PM »

Updated from Openreach on my behalf

As part of a fault ticket we can request a remote DLM reset if the
circuit has been stable with no errors or drops for at least ten days.
If you'd like to raise a fault in the panel we can get the request
sent on to TTB.

The isp told me my line need to be stable for ten days then will requested for DLM resetted
Logged

g3uiss

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1037
  • You never too old to learn but soon I may be
    • Midas Solutions
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #28 on: September 22, 2021, 03:15:07 PM »

How much does all this matter to your use of the circuit?
Logged
Cerebus FTTP 500/70 Draytec 2927 VOXI 4G fallback.

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: G.Fast DLM made a change on the line
« Reply #29 on: September 22, 2021, 04:16:49 PM »

Test Result: Fail - Fault located in local network
Description: FAULT - Battery Contact
Fault Ref: **************
Contact Details: 01*********

What is this battery contract fault mean?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3