Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: New Full Fibre 900 with BT  (Read 875 times)

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1585
New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« on: September 09, 2021, 06:59:21 PM »

Openreach engineer has arrived this morning spend nearly two hours to install fibre optic at my brother house. Very interesting he show me all the job done. Pretty straight forward job.

Wifi on samsung phone https://www.speedtest.net/result/a/7703338505

Ethernet to his pc from BT Smart Hub was 900/110

« Last Edit: September 13, 2021, 05:07:47 PM by adslmax »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34344
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2021, 10:15:38 PM »

Openreach engineer has arrived this morning spend nearly two hours to install fibre optic at my brother house. Very interesting he show me all the job done. Pretty straight forward job.

Wifi on samsung phone https://www.speedtest.net/result/a/7703338505

Ethernet to his pc from BT Smart Hub was 900/110

That looks like a good result. Is you brother happy with the service?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1585
Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2021, 10:17:26 PM »

Yes he is happy. He ditched virgin media lol
Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1585
Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2021, 10:54:42 PM »

I think BT engineer need to protect this fibre optic cable by added duct?

« Last Edit: September 13, 2021, 05:08:03 PM by adslmax »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34344
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2021, 11:14:13 PM »

The fibre cables used are really quite tough. I agree that is does appear to be somewhat odd but with the cable's location at the junction of the two walls it is fairly well protected.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1585
Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2021, 11:21:37 PM »

Yeah my brother live very quiet area (in the middle of no where with very peaceful bungalow) seem very nice area but I can't afford 325,000 bungalow as they got no mortgage now all paid off. I am jealous of his full fibre! The future is here!
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34344
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2021, 11:49:15 PM »

If there is any future worry that the incoming fibre cable may get too many knocks, then just fixing a steel capping (as used to protect ordinary cables running up a wooden pole) over those few inches would be sufficient.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

maxheadroom

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2021, 11:53:51 AM »

Quote
I think BT engineer need to protect this fibre optic cable by added duct?

Get a big plant pot!



https://youtu.be/USardNdeFuo
« Last Edit: September 11, 2021, 11:56:28 AM by maxheadroom »
Logged

Bestgear

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2021, 04:50:54 PM »

Hi

On a wired connection - what speed can you get?

If you use Speedtest - which host server ae you using?

The problem I am seeing is finding a fast enough host to test the 900 connection - too much contention I expect at the host end... speedtest hosts, for me vary from 600 - 880ish in speed.

Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1585
Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2021, 05:09:19 PM »

My brother using this site speedtest.net and use London server under Lightning Fibre Limited with his ISP BT 1000/115 and he getting download of 900 and upload of 115 with ping of 7ms
Logged
 

anything