Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Sky G.Fast keep-alive?  (Read 463 times)

facboy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Sky G.Fast keep-alive?
« on: October 07, 2021, 08:10:10 PM »

does anybody know if there is some sort of keep-alive on G.Fast (on Sky, if that matters)?

reason I ask is for about 9 months i've been using an MT992 with my own OpenWRT router.  everything is fine except occasionally it will completely drop sync and then resync.  it's always (as in literally, every single time) around 22:45-23:15, but it isn't otherwise on a predictable cadence.  usually a few days apart.  there's not much info available from the MT992 unfortunately, all i know is i notice connectivity loss on my PC, then the 'Internet' light on the MT992 is out, then the DSL light goes, and after a couple of minutes it resyncs and comes back online.

i've swapped back to the sky router, and it's been up for over a week now - normally i would have expected a drop out by this point.  that said it has gone for over a week once before, but then it started dropping out again.  i was wondering if there is some keep-alive that my OpenWRT router isn't responding to that is causing the other end to terminate the connection.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3128
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Sky G.Fast keep-alive?
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2021, 10:16:36 PM »

As you're using the MT992 if its dropping its THERE the problem must lie, the router plays no part in keeping the line alive, only the PPP session and the modem should stay in sync even if you have no active PPP session at all.

Its likely either random like you said and not happened yet on the Sky, or the MT992 may be more sensitive to a particular noise issue you are having in your area.  It could even be power fluctuations, PSU going bad on MT992, bad capacitors in the MT992, a lot of these things can trigger random issues.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2021, 10:19:24 PM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, Hauwei B353-232 on Libera 4G, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

facboy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Sky G.Fast keep-alive?
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2021, 11:38:16 PM »

yes, it was more than it is always around the same time of night (though not every day).  may just be more sensitive as you said - possibly somebody is doing something in our building on some nights, always around that time.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3128
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Sky G.Fast keep-alive?
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2021, 12:14:53 AM »

Indeed, if its something switching on/off then the noise it creates wont be identical every time, so it not always being enough to drop sync is not unusual.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, Hauwei B353-232 on Libera 4G, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1585
Re: Sky G.Fast keep-alive?
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2021, 04:59:40 PM »

there's not much info available from the MT992 unfortunately

U can purchase this one better online https://esonline.co.uk/product/260951 because trust me this one much better than Openreach Modem MT992

My stats on Openreach Modem MT992
down: 181 up: 26 (way too low)
My live stats on zyxel xmg3927-b50a under my signature below (it can access more information via dslstats)
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3625
Re: Sky G.Fast keep-alive?
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2021, 05:04:44 PM »

It could simply be the DLM resyncing the line.

Without access to line stats it's hard to say what could be causing the line to resync.
A modem with stats may answer what's going on but that can be a big spend only to find it's the DLM and can't be prevented.

If you're purchasing another modem I would suggest getting something that could be returned after trying it incase the issue persisted.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM