Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data  (Read 356 times)

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2238
Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« on: July 05, 2021, 10:36:22 PM »

If any of you guys use the audio program Audacity then be aware that since its been bought out by a new company they have changed the privacy policy so its going to be grabbing lots of data on users.

Audacity users are seriously angry right now
https://www.techradar.com/uk/news/audacity-fans-are-absolutely-furious-right-now-heres-why

Quote
Under the new privacy policy, Audacity will collect information such as OS version, CPU and error codes, but also the location of the user. According to the policy, this information is required for analytics purposes and to improve the application, although it’s unclear where location data slots into this picture.

The policy goes on to state that Audacity will collect “data necessary for law enforcement, litigation and authorities’ requests”, but does not expand on what type of information this clause might cover, leading to speculation it could be used to justify an unacceptable breach of user privacy.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1150
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2021, 10:45:31 PM »

That's me not updating it. I thought Muse had backed down from telemetrics. Maybe not.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2696
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2021, 11:12:49 PM »

The ....?  Especially that second paragraph.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 1xHome Hub 5A on Zen, 1xECI Openreach on Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2238
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2021, 12:00:46 PM »

I was just reading the site story that one linked to and the bit about law enforcement, litigation and authorities bit is explained in a graph.

It says legal grounds for processing; Legitimate interest of WSM to defend its legal rights and interests.

https://fosspost.org/audacity-is-now-a-spyware/

So does this mean if someone uses certain music and are mixing it via audacity, that the program will just hand over all the data to the music company?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33245
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2021, 04:49:29 PM »

Surely no data can be transferred if Audacity is used on a system that is not connected to the Internet? Or am I misunderstanding something?  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1150
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2021, 05:49:04 PM »

https://www.theregister.com/2021/07/06/audacity_fork/

There's a new fork with all the badness removed. Just needs a name.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2696
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2021, 09:59:39 PM »

Surely no data can be transferred if Audacity is used on a system that is not connected to the Internet? Or am I misunderstanding something?  :-\

No data should ever leave your PC anyway, Audacity AFAIK is a purely offline application, thus why its so baffling they are doing this.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 1xHome Hub 5A on Zen, 1xECI Openreach on Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6535
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2021, 10:57:14 PM »

Data collection is a huge market, whats effectively happened is the program got purchased just for the intention of harvesting data.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2696
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2021, 01:38:08 AM »

But what sort of data is a program like Audacity going to even give?
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 1xHome Hub 5A on Zen, 1xECI Openreach on Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40474
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2021, 07:33:45 AM »

Breaches of copyright by the user?
Logged
  Eric

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3510
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2021, 10:11:40 AM »

Because Audacity is open source openSUSE have been disabling these features in Audacity which is available on their repositories!

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2238
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2021, 12:12:32 PM »

I found the site I mentioned earlier; http://www.oldversion.com

Audacity is on there.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6535
Re: Audacity - looking to grab lots of data
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2021, 03:36:07 PM »

I will just be keeping the older version I have, I have no reason to update it, and its things like this which make me disable any auto update features.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
 

anything