Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Need help with diagnosing intermittent network connection please  (Read 1242 times)

cosrush

I have an annoying issue on our home network and I can't put my finger on what it is. I am not a network engineer or the like but do have some basic knowledge of networking.

My setup:
ZyXel modem running in bridge mode to a TP Link router.
We have nearly all wired connections directly to the router. One port on each router goes to each of my kids bedrooms where it meets a TP Link 5 port switch.
They both haver Pc's and Tvs both wired from the switch. All cabling CAT5e.

One of the rooms hardly ever has any issues whilst the other experiences intermittent lagging that leaves his connection unplayable. His games lag to the point where he can't play and his chats stop too.

I'm at my wits end (and extent of knowledge to help) so I'm hoping some of you experienced people can please offer some advice as to what I could check.

Thanks in advance.

cosrush

Re: Need help with diagnosing intermittent network connection please
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2021, 08:53:04 PM »

Oh and I should add, I just replaced the modem and router as this issue started happening and I thought it could be related. It doesn't appear so.

I have carried out virus scans and nothing is found.

burakkucat

• Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2021, 09:19:21 PM »

At the TP-Link router, swap the two network cables going from it to room-1 and to room-2. Does the "badness" change rooms?

If no, then you have a problem with the Ethernet cable running from the router to the "bad" room or there is a problem with the TP-Link 5 Port switch located in the "bad" room.