Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8

Author Topic: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2  (Read 5392 times)

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« on: July 02, 2021, 10:37:50 AM »

Zen regraded my ADSL2 to FTTC today. The task is closed but my upload is under 1mbps. Download is whatís expected and similar to my other VDSL line. Looking at the Stats this looks better than my older line. Any suggestions as to the low upload ?  Stats are here, ignore the ADSL in the address I havenít bothered to readdress that.

west-lodge.com/adsl/index.htm

« Last Edit: July 02, 2021, 11:08:20 AM by g3uiss »
Logged
Zen FTTC X 2 HG612 modems VOXI 4G with Vigor 2925

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40652
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2021, 10:51:03 AM »

I can't make that link work any way. Trying to ping west.lodge.com gets the response 'domain does not exist'. Removing the dot between west and lodge throws up security warnings and produces no output if I ignore them.
Logged
  Eric

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2021, 11:07:50 AM »

Sorry itís west-Lodge.com/adsl/index.htm.

However I notice Iíve little tones on the US ?
Logged
Zen FTTC X 2 HG612 modems VOXI 4G with Vigor 2925

sof006

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2021, 05:47:09 PM »

Something certainly doesn't look right, 0.0 on line attenuation for upload.

Perhaps a fault somewhere?
Logged

RealAleMadrid

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2021, 08:57:53 PM »

That's just a bug in the modem firmware, not a real value.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2882
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2021, 11:38:36 PM »

The stats don't seem to be updating.
Stats recorded 02 Jul 2021 10:37:44

Looks like the cabinet is quite a distance away, its more like what you'd get on a really short ADSL2+ line.  So I guess its still a huge improvement on what it was before?
« Last Edit: July 02, 2021, 11:41:47 PM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2xHome Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen/Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD (OpenWRT) + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6581
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2021, 11:50:11 PM »

Hopefully you get a better response than mine, I looked at your bitloading and the downstream almost dies out before the U1 band, and U1 carries that on with barely any usable bits.

The QLN seems ok for U1 same as downstream, hlog doesnt have the weird pattern that my line had when faulty.  So to me it simply looks like the line isnt good(short) enough to get a higher upload sync, but maybe someone else can give you a better opinion.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2021, 11:52:21 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 675
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2021, 12:01:23 AM »

Zen regraded my ADSL2 to FTTC today. The task is closed but my upload is under 1mbps. Download is whatís expected and similar to my other VDSL line. Looking at the Stats this looks better than my older line. Any suggestions as to the low upload ?  Stats are here, ignore the ADSL in the address I havenít bothered to readdress that.

west-lodge.com/adsl/index.htm

Regrades can take up to midnight to complete on the communication providers end, have you seen an improvement yet?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3552
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2021, 12:54:34 AM »

DSLAM type / SW version:   IFTN:0xd086

You have the IFTN:0xd086 line card firmware/version.
It gives very poor upstream on longer lines.
There's quite a few examples of this on the forums over the years.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #9 on: July 03, 2021, 09:10:39 AM »

@J0hn thatís likely the answer. I have an OR visit booked but not for 10 days due my availability. Would they change the card ? Or I would have been better on ADSL2. My other line is 23/3 which is about right for AL line and distance.

@Alex I turned off updating on purpose. The line is stable at those figures.

Logged
Zen FTTC X 2 HG612 modems VOXI 4G with Vigor 2925

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6581
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2021, 09:18:46 AM »

@g3uiss perhaps you can post the graphs for the other line so we can compare?
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2021, 09:50:24 AM »

Both lines updating now. Will leave them updating for a couple of hours

west-lodge.com/adsl/index.htm new
west-lodge.com/vdsl/index.htm original FTTP

Logged
Zen FTTC X 2 HG612 modems VOXI 4G with Vigor 2925

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6581
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2021, 10:19:27 AM »

Thanks, I looked at the line health graphs and the bit loading graphs.

So as expected your older VDSL line has better bitloading not just on the upstream but also the downstream, so it is a better line, so then I looked at the line health graphs to try and find out why.

The new line seems to have less noise on it, but it is also higher attenuation.  On the telnet it seems very similar 27.2 vs 27.0 but if you look at the hlog its more significant around the end of D0 and start of U1.

If you are using dslstats, you can click on telnet -> pbParams and it will provide more detailed attenuation thats measured at U0 U1 etc.  There is also an attenuation log there as well which is useful for tracking it over time.

It could be I am wrong of course and even though it looks bigger on hlog it still might not be expected behaviour.

I did also check the dslam firmware version and your 2nd line is on a different one, which backs up what john was saying so it might be as simple as having it moved.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2021, 10:25:22 AM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2021, 10:38:53 AM »

Thanks @Chrysalis I agree with the comments, particularly the new line seems quieter. As its a new provision its interleaved (ECI) I expect that will go shortly. There doesn't look or sound (17070) that there is an actual line fault, so hopefully the card is the answer.

Thanks for looking and all other input OR booked for 16th July will report back
Logged
Zen FTTC X 2 HG612 modems VOXI 4G with Vigor 2925

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6581
Re: ADSL2+ Upgraded to VDSL2
« Reply #14 on: July 03, 2021, 10:47:43 AM »

Please keep us updated, hopefully whatever the cause it gets resolved.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8
 

anything