Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Pole replacement?  (Read 501 times)

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2709
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Pole replacement?
« on: June 07, 2021, 07:31:50 PM »

Just curious, does this type of pole have to be completely replaced for FTTP?
How exactly do they go about it?
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 1xHome Hub 5A on Zen, 1xECI Openreach on Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Chunk72

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2021, 07:40:21 PM »

No, Openreach have developed a CBT to go inside the hollow poles.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33269
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2021, 07:41:34 PM »

Ah, a hollow pole. I'm sure there is a way that they can be used.

I think it best to wait for a comment from someone who is employed in the field of FTTP deployment.  ;)

[Edit: The answer has already appeared . . . my paws are slow today.]
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2709
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2021, 07:42:08 PM »

Interesting, it must be extremely optimised compared to the on-pole variety as they look pretty bulky.

I'm just curious as before one.network pulled descriptions of work, there were a few pole replacements showing in my area.  But now a lot more work is going on and I can't tell what it is.  Probably just rodding and roping, but have to kill the time somehow...
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 1xHome Hub 5A on Zen, 1xECI Openreach on Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5324
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2021, 07:52:33 PM »

No, Openreach have developed a CBT to go inside the hollow poles.

Indeed they have .... and it is affectionately referred to as a 'squid'.  :)
Logged

kjw

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2021, 08:45:08 PM »

Indeed they have .... and it is affectionately referred to as a 'squid'.  :)

I remember seeing a picture of one somewhere,  sure it was TBB but cant find it now!
Logged
ZEN 900/100 via pfSense | Unifi AC-HD WiFi
Speedtest | BQM Graph

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5324
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2021, 08:58:50 PM »

Logged

kjw

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2021, 09:01:29 PM »

There it is, knew someone would know :P
Logged
ZEN 900/100 via pfSense | Unifi AC-HD WiFi
Speedtest | BQM Graph

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1152
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2021, 10:27:58 PM »

Can see why they call it the Squid.  ::)
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

antsly

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2021, 10:24:01 AM »

Speaking of pole replacements, you think they'd notifiy the ISPs that some customers might be facing downtime because of a pole replacement...
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33269
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2021, 03:08:37 PM »

Speaking of pole replacements, you think they'd notifiy the ISPs that some customers might be facing downtime because of a pole replacement...

No, I wouldn't.

Over the last 100+ years, many poles have been replaced without disturbing the active services running on the infrastructure so supported by the pole(s).
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 583
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2021, 03:13:13 PM »

Speaking of pole replacements, you think they'd notifiy the ISPs that some customers might be facing downtime because of a pole replacement...

Why would you give a user a reason to ask for compensation?
Logged

S.Stephenson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 536
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2021, 04:48:52 PM »

I know a location that is rolling out FTTP soon that has these.

Google maps btw.

« Last Edit: June 25, 2021, 04:53:43 PM by S.Stephenson »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33269
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2021, 05:00:49 PM »

I know a location that is rolling out FTTP soon that has these.

That looks to be a electricity distribution pole and would be the property of the electricity supply company. If there is also any telecommunications infrastructure supported by it (it is difficult to make out), the pole would be used under the (obsolete) dual utilities pole sharing scheme.

The second image shows a mains electricity aerial drop.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2709
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Pole replacement?
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2021, 05:11:55 PM »

I'm always fascinated with electricity distribution as its something that in this country, at least unless you're rural, is largely hidden.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 1xHome Hub 5A on Zen, 1xECI Openreach on Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors
Pages: [1] 2