Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: Line 3 upstream (again)  (Read 1368 times)

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9727
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Line 3 upstream (again)
« Reply #45 on: April 08, 2021, 01:36:50 AM »

Someone ought to be able to work this out. Why only line 3 upstream? And in fact why is it only upstream that is incredibly slow? (Mind you, this is having not yet properly looked at any downstream issues since the drop cable swap-out, regarding packet loss.)

And, agrees with Burakkucat :)

Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32304
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Line 3 upstream (again)
« Reply #46 on: April 08, 2021, 04:17:12 PM »

In all seriousness, if senior management (and yourself) could cope without Internet access for, say, one hour it might be a worthwhile experiment to power off each modem and then disconnect each one from its respective NTE5. Once the "off time" has elapsed, power on each modem and then reconnect each one to its respective NTE5.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9727
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Line 3 upstream (again)
« Reply #47 on: April 09, 2021, 02:20:17 AM »

Will do. Iíd be interested to hear more about your thinking behind leaving a modem powered off for the duration vs leaving it powered up but merely disconnected.

Iíll recruit senior management for this task in the morning.
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7055
Re: Line 3 upstream (again)
« Reply #48 on: April 09, 2021, 08:16:08 AM »

It is curious that the fault appeared gone after the drop-wire was replaced but returned a few hours later. This suggests to me either a poor joint/connection somewhere or a modem starting to fail once 'warmed up'.
If you've already tried swapping the modem and power supply, which I seem to remember you have, then I'd try disconnecting and reconnecting both ends of the line cord a few times to clean those connections and then another line cord if that made no difference. At least then you have proved that none of your equipment is the cause and that it is definitely an Openreach issue.
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9727
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Line 3 upstream (again)
« Reply #49 on: April 09, 2021, 01:06:50 PM »

I havenít swapped over the modem or its psu recently. I just think that I spoke too soon the other day, saying that all was good; it was good/bad for various periods, thatís my my best guess.

AA has suggested that I disconnect the modem for a while so that it doesnít muck up the overall bonded connection, saying that itís pointless to try sending anything upstream up a 61k sync rate link. AA is going to book one final Openreach engineer on it and then we have agreed that we will give up if no success.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32304
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Line 3 upstream (again)
« Reply #50 on: April 09, 2021, 11:18:31 PM »

Will do. Iíd be interested to hear more about your thinking behind leaving a modem powered off for the duration . . .

The modem will then perform a cold boot, with all counters, etc, initialised to zero and the physical electronics in a (temperature) cold state. As tubaman has mentioned, above.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9727
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Line 3 upstream (again)
« Reply #51 on: April 10, 2021, 11:36:59 AM »

Oh I see, I didnít get the literal temperature thing. Good point, thanks Tubaman, have done as you suggest.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9727
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Line 3 upstream (again)
« Reply #52 on: Today at 06:14:18 AM »

The engineer from OR arrived on Saturday afternoon. Janet really needed my help in speaking the tech words to the engineer, so I wobbled out of my bed and was manoeuvred into the infrastructure- and servers room, aka Janet's dressing room. I explained very carefully to the engineer what the fault was, its importance and the background. He really Ďgot ití; it was quite clear that he understood perfectly, but he didnít have a solution. Fortunately there was something else wrong besides the agreed appalling u/s sync rate, which was a number of ES upstream during a 5 min long standard test. (Is it called a "close-out" test?) Because of this fail on ES and the general mysterious vexing nature of the problem, he phoned BTW support 2nd level or whatever itís called; again couldnít hear half of it; Anyway our man was escalated past the first-line representatives, but couldnít get anything useful. He thought about changing target SNRM but I told him that that wouldnít make a remotely big enough difference, which indeed turned out to be the case. He asked me about capping of the upstream - I had forgotten that there is such a thing for ADSL2 upstream - and I said that no one had applied any such thing, and it would show up in cluelessí logs anyway.

After we had discussed it for a little while, our engineer then left, saying he was heading to the exchange.

Whatever he then did, he somehow had fixed the problem and phoned back, so I gave him the good news that I agreed that it was looking superb at my end too! Even if he didnít know how; he did something. Back up to 399 kbps @ 6dB. So a superb result.

Because the sound quality was better, yet totally appalling, the engineer's call to BTW was Ďaudibleí to me (barely) on the phoneís loudspeaker. I asked the engineer about the audio quality of these calls and he said it was a continuing pain in the neck. At times we couldnít make out anything at  all, due to a combination of bad call quality and very heavy Indian accents. It was very interesting to get an insight into what an engineer gets up to when he/she is in a call; Iíve never been in attendance before.

So line 3 has been saved from the chop.  ;D

I just wish there were fewer mysteries.
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7055
Re: Line 3 upstream (again)
« Reply #53 on: Today at 09:32:44 AM »

Let's hope it remains fixed as issues like this that go away but you're not sure why are really frustrating. I suspect he reseated a card and/or connection of some sort in the exchange.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
 

anything