Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing  (Read 381 times)

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1118
  • TTB 80/20
Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« on: February 19, 2021, 10:21:19 PM »

This morning one of my Zyxel VMG-1312-B10A rebooted at 8am after around 14 days uptime in bridge mode. It has been timing out in DSLStats for telnet for quite a while and seems sluggish on the web GUI. So I have replaced it with another 1312A which seems to have cured the problem of telnet timing out. It's a shame because the one I have replaced had the highest sync out of all of them. Think it's on it's way out?
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2247
    • My Broadband History
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2021, 05:07:30 AM »

Did you try just swapping the PSU?
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1118
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2021, 06:30:00 AM »

Did you try just swapping the PSU?

Swapped both.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2247
    • My Broadband History
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2021, 07:09:08 AM »

Swapped both.

I mean did you try the PSU from the one you are using now with the old one, to see if its the router or the PSU at fault?
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1118
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2021, 01:50:04 PM »

No just swapped both router and PSU.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32334
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2021, 02:37:36 PM »

Last June (2020) I experienced a non-operative ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A. After some tests, the PSU was identified as the culprit.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1118
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2021, 07:13:12 PM »

I think I remeber that thread mr B*Kat. I shall have to dig out a multimeter and test when I get time. I have put both back in original box and marked with a red dot.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2247
    • My Broadband History
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2021, 08:20:08 PM »

A multimeter isn't really going to tell you much as a bad PSU usually will output the right voltage under no load, potentially even under load, but the ripple will be all over the place which is what causes stability problems.

As always, its usually the electrolytic capacitors that have dried up.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1118
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2021, 08:32:01 PM »

Well my 1960's oscilliscope is in the loft and its a mess up there.  :lol:

Quote
As always, its usually the electrolytic capacitors that have dried up.

In the PSU or 1312?
« Last Edit: February 20, 2021, 08:36:13 PM by banger »
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2247
    • My Broadband History
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2021, 11:55:16 PM »

Well my 1960's oscilliscope is in the loft and its a mess up there.  :lol:

In the PSU or 1312?

Both, but I don't see any in the 1312 that seem likely candidates vs the PSU where its usually impossible to replace them.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2021, 12:05:51 AM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32334
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Think one of my VMG1312-B10A is failing
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2021, 12:35:56 AM »

In my case, it was the PSU that had failed. I.e. zero volts DC output. Hence an easy test and thus an easy solution.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
 

anything