Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Email Link  (Read 6448 times)

dave.m

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1453
Re: Email Link
« Reply #15 on: July 28, 2008, 02:18:48 PM »

Just done an interesting experiment, (well the result was interesting).
Windows XP SP3.
Firefox v3.0.1 default browser
Using Yahoo Canada email address I c&p the active link to Plusnet that you posted earlier into an email and it showed blue and underlined.
I then c&p a URL from the address bar and that showed black and not underlined.

Sent the email to my Google account and both showed as blue underlined and live clickable links.

Try doing a copy and paste of the blue link above for Plusnet. Paste it into an email and then cop and paste the URL at the top of the page, send it to your other email account. See if it arrives clickable.

If it does then your email clients are not recognising a url as being clickable if copied from the address bar.

dave
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Email Link
« Reply #16 on: July 28, 2008, 02:46:34 PM »

Right, I copied the plusnet link and pasted into yahoo.co.uk.I then copied the url in the address bar and sent it to my google gmail.com address.The link was clickable and took me to the Plusnet site.  :)    I still can't understand when I copy and then paste in the www.ukcampsite.co.uk forum its black text and not clickable,when I do the same with IE7 after I have posted the link it is red,underlined and clickable.
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Email Link
« Reply #17 on: July 28, 2008, 03:08:05 PM »

Just tried this,all with the the plusnet link. copied to gmail sent to yahoo fine,clickable. gmail to live.co.uk fine clckable.livemail to yahoo not clickable,yahoo to live mail not clickable.


Edit,Livemail to gmail,fine,clickable. yahoo to gmail,fine,clickable.
Its just the livemail to yahoo and visa versa that isn't a clickable link,    :hmm: :shrug2: :help:
« Last Edit: July 28, 2008, 03:12:55 PM by UncleUB »
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Email Link
« Reply #18 on: July 28, 2008, 03:11:51 PM »

The ok, clickable links...............are they opening in FF or IE, or even both ??
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Email Link
« Reply #19 on: July 28, 2008, 03:14:00 PM »

All those above test links have been done in FF3,everythings fine in IE7
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Email Link
« Reply #20 on: July 28, 2008, 03:17:05 PM »

Could you make one final check to ensure that Blue has not turned the Fox into sausages ?  ;D
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Email Link
« Reply #21 on: July 28, 2008, 03:23:47 PM »

Fox, links,sausages,is there a pattern emerging here   :lol:
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32223
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Email Link
« Reply #22 on: July 28, 2008, 03:43:51 PM »

I just logged into my livemail account and its being stupid right now and not displaying properly.
I notice theres also a javascript coding error on the page.

However..  this appears to be a separate (livemail/mozilla) issue and the same is happening here.

I can make it insert a link in FF but I have to click on the hyperlink icon at the top of the email (see image below).


I wonder why it will work in IE but not FF - surely nothing to do with M$
/cynic
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Email Link
« Reply #23 on: July 28, 2008, 04:01:58 PM »

I have just found out that hyperlink icon is the way to copy and paste on the ukcampsite forum(using FF).In IE7 all you do is copy and paste the link straight on your reply page.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything