Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Having issues accessing the forum  (Read 2110 times)

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2267
    • My Broadband History
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #30 on: December 19, 2020, 08:33:28 PM »

Does seem better now.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 616
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #31 on: December 19, 2020, 11:06:27 PM »

Iíve just had the problem for the first time. Took three goes for it to load  :no:
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2267
    • My Broadband History
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #32 on: December 19, 2020, 11:32:43 PM »

Iíve just had the problem for the first time. Took three goes for it to load  :no:

I did get a DNS error earlier but that has nothing to do with the server itself, not sure why that would happen.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3365
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #33 on: December 21, 2020, 12:36:42 PM »

The site has been running pretty good for me over the last few days, even with others posting issues in this thread I hadn't noticed issues.

Not so great today.
I also just got an error trying to post, something along the lines of "SMF could not connect to database".
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32659
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #34 on: December 21, 2020, 03:36:40 PM »

Cheers.   Just noticed it myself :(
I still have a couple of things to look into but was hoping it was mostly sorted.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2267
    • My Broadband History
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #35 on: December 21, 2020, 04:12:40 PM »

Do you have something like fail2ban to lock out people trying to connect too quickly?  Though knowing my luck, I'd get locked out. :p
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1120
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #36 on: December 21, 2020, 10:23:08 PM »

Kitz.co.uk has been down for me since 21:30 til I changed my DNS from 1.1.1.1 to the default TTB DNS servers. All other sites were fine and DNS servers brought Kitz up (Google DNS). Very strange.

>nslookup kitz.co.uk  1.1.1.1
Server:  one.one.one.one
Address:  1.1.1.1

*** one.one.one.one can't find kitz.co.uk: Server failed
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2267
    • My Broadband History
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #37 on: December 22, 2020, 12:04:31 PM »

Indeed, I use DNS over TLS to Cloudflare and the forum has randomly failed DNS lookups, though I've only seen it happen a couple of times over the last week.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32659
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #38 on: December 22, 2020, 08:50:51 PM »

Not sure whats happening with 1.1.1.1 as I use it  :-\

I've put something else in place today that I'm hoping should put the brake on bingbot that very kindly crawled 1.4m forum pages day before yesterday and decided that the rss feed was 271.8k site maps as it appears to have got itself in a loop on the rss feed for some obscure reason.

TBH I think there may still be some performance issues since the hardware change as previously the old server on occasion saw more hits than I got the other nite after the bing mega crawl.   

I'm afraid I can't do anything else for now - I'd love to remove and sort tapatalk and remove it to do a clean install, but its integrated itself in the core code and removing it is not straight forward.     I've spent an awful lot of time on this over the past few days.   I've been in hospital for the majority of the past 3 months and was supposedly home to get a few things done and try to regain strength before surgery this week.  I burnt out yesterday and made myself ill -  I am already extremely weak and have lost over 4 stone in as many months.  I was hardly overweight to begin with. :/   
So I'm signing off now leaving you in the capable hands or Eric and Alan to keep you guys in order ;)

Wishing you all the best for a happy and peaceful christmas despite the strange circumstances this year.   
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #39 on: December 22, 2020, 09:23:51 PM »

I wonder if it's a 1.1.1.1 DNS problem, I've changed to 8.8.8.8 (Google) and will see if it reoccurs
Logged

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1120
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #40 on: December 22, 2020, 09:27:21 PM »

I wonder if it's a 1.1.1.1 DNS problem, I've changed to 8.8.8.8 (Google) and will see if it reoccurs

I'm still using 1.1.1.1 on my browser with fallback to TTB DNS servers so if 1.1.1.1 does fail my browser should pickup the TTB DNS.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 384
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #41 on: December 22, 2020, 09:32:01 PM »

Get well soon kitz   :)
Logged
TalkTalk 80/20, Huawei 288, Zyxel VMG8924-B10A, pfsense x64
Pages: 1 2 [3]