Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Having issues accessing the forum  (Read 2103 times)

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2083
Having issues accessing the forum
« on: December 13, 2020, 04:35:47 PM »

Occasionally getting an error when loading the forum, or it loads very slowly. I'm using BT Broadband and 1.1.1.1 DNS.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32334
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2020, 05:22:28 PM »

Quite recently I have notice some sluggishness when attempting to access the forum. I, too, use Cloudflare's public DNS server (1.1.1.1).
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

tiffy

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2020, 06:08:45 PM »

Over the last few days I've also noticed unusal and more frequent slow downs on the site for example changing from "show unread posts since last visit" to particular posts and back again, can take up to 30 secs and certainly occurs more frequently than previous.

I'am using Win 10 Home desktop PC and Firefox browser.
Logged
Zen 40/10 - DSLStats/RPi3B - ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Modem/VMG-3925-B10B Router Huawei Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6406
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2020, 01:02:11 AM »

It just lagged here, I hit f12 to see whats going on and just a quite long time to first byte (9 seconds).
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1118
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2020, 01:07:38 AM »

I am seeing the same.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2248
    • My Broadband History
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2020, 02:45:35 AM »

I already raised this a while back, its been doing this for months for me.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32658
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2020, 06:57:46 AM »

Apparently the site was moved over to new hardware in the past few days.  Unfortunately I wasn't warned that this was happening. 
I had seen a SS mail saying they would be updating many of their servers over the Dec/Jan period but from the email it sounded like it was a standard update of the operating system and no exact date given.   

It's only after investigation of some other oddities, that I've found out about the move to new hardware, and that an error had been made with DNS.   
Hopefully it should now have been corrected, but there may also be some problem with email not being sent too.

I'm therefore guessing that I'm now on one of their standard racks which will in turn I no longer have the bespoke hardware.   Sorry guys not that much that I can do about it.   I did have a really good web host but since the takeover Im just a tiny fish in a very big pond now.   I did spend a considerable amount of time some months ago looking at other hosting, but my options are limited as there are certain requirements I need such as fully managed, cpanel & uk based.etc.   I'm not really in a position anyhow to be wanting to spend time transferring everything elsewhere.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2020, 09:04:33 AM »

Apparently the site was moved over to new hardware in the past few days.  Unfortunately I wasn't warned that this was happening. 
I had seen a SS mail saying they would be updating many of their servers over the Dec/Jan period but from the email it sounded like it was a standard update of the operating system and no exact date given.   

It's only after investigation of some other oddities, that I've found out about the move to new hardware, and that an error had been made with DNS.   
Hopefully it should now have been corrected, but there may also be some problem with email not being sent too.

I'm therefore guessing that I'm now on one of their standard racks which will in turn I no longer have the bespoke hardware.   Sorry guys not that much that I can do about it.   I did have a really good web host but since the takeover Im just a tiny fish in a very big pond now.   I did spend a considerable amount of time some months ago looking at other hosting, but my options are limited as there are certain requirements I need such as fully managed, cpanel & uk based.etc.   I'm not really in a position anyhow to be wanting to spend time transferring everything elsewhere.

Thanks for looking into it so quickly Kitz. Hope you’re staying safe, long time no talk.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3448
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2020, 10:39:33 AM »

Thanks for the update Kitz, that explains the issues I had the other day.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2020, 05:55:32 PM »

Unfortunately I am still having issues.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32658
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2020, 06:12:25 PM »

Is there anything in particular.  ie such as during posting, after posting or is it just general browsing?


---
eta

I've just optimised the forum db.   
I've also been running some queries on the db which I expect to cause some slowness, but it seems to be ok.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2020, 06:39:00 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2020, 08:27:57 PM »

unable to find website.

forum loaded after so many refreshes
Logged

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1034
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2020, 09:05:30 PM »

Hi

If it helps kitz, please remove ns3.vidahost.com from Nameservers as it is shown but not used, and anyone who uses ns3 will have issues connecting

Check your forum.kitz.co.uk DNS TTL and set to 3600 (should speed up stale DNS cache)

I hope that helps a little

Many thanks

John
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32658
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #13 on: December 16, 2020, 02:42:10 AM »

Thanks John

default TTL is 3,600 seconds and ns 3 removed.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3363
Re: Having issues accessing the forum
« Reply #14 on: December 16, 2020, 11:25:37 AM »

Is there anything in particular.  ie such as during posting, after posting or is it just general browsing?

I was experiencing some delays when posting or editing a post.
It didn't happen every time though.

I haven't noticed any issues today. Seems nice and snappy.

Quick edit: posted immediately.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test
Pages: [1] 2 3