Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: HG612 issue or something else?  (Read 795 times)

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
HG612 issue or something else?
« on: December 12, 2020, 05:34:19 PM »

I noticed that sometimes images fail to load and I have to reload the page. Could this be something to do with the MTU on the HG612 or the Zyxel router? I never noticed this when I used the Zyxel as both router and modem.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9524
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2020, 07:16:26 PM »

Itís difficult to say, as there could be a number of causes. I donít think MTU is going to be a problem because the HG612 handles full IP MTU of 1500. Sorry that Iím not much more help.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2072
    • My Broadband History
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2020, 08:06:11 AM »

Easy way to tell if its MTU, reduce the MTU on your routers WAN to 1492.  That is very much along the lines of problems I've had even with hardware that also supports 1500 and why I switched back to the default of 1492.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Voxi 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2020, 09:32:36 AM »



Quote
ping -n 1 -f -l 1472 81.187.81.187


Pinging 81.187.81.187 with 1472 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.254: Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.


Ping statistics for 81.187.81.187:
    Packets: Sent = 1, Received = 1, Lost = 0 (0% loss),


Quote
ping -n 1 -f -l 1464 81.187.81.187


Pinging 81.187.81.187 with 1464 bytes of data:
Reply from 81.187.81.187: bytes=1464 time=95ms TTL=57


Ping statistics for 81.187.81.187:
    Packets: Sent = 1, Received = 1, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 95ms, Maximum = 95ms, Average = 95ms


I think the HG612 as a modem in bridge the MTU is locked to 1500 but on the Zyxel ETHWAN is set to the max 1492. Would this mismatch cause issues?

I just feel something is not right in general day to day browsing.


Anyway I disabled DoS Protection Blocking on the Zyxel to see if this helps.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2020, 10:18:40 AM by digitalnemesis »
Logged

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1034
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2020, 11:21:17 AM »

Hi

Your external MTU needs to be 1500 (made up of 1472 + 28 header/payload)

Your internal network MTU needs to be set at 1500 (made up of 1472 + 28 header/payload)

This then matches or you could set your MTU lower then 1500

Your value of 1464 would indicate that one or more of your equipment is not capable perhaps of MTU 1500 or is set at lower MTU.

I am thinking your IP address used is your broadband IP, so I would first run the MTU test to your router internal IP address, to see if it accepts an MTU of 1472.  If it does this suggest that your MTU issue is on your router but I do not know your setup, but HG612 are set to MTU 1500, and as it is modem mode, your router suggests to be the MTU issue

If your internal network MTU test shows lover then 1472, then it is likely either your computer and/or switch.

This is assuming you are using hardwired and not wifi and an external test to your IP shown, shows MTU of 1472 is accepted (1472 + 28 header/payload), so your broadband provider is running at MTU of 1500

Many thanks

John
Logged

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2020, 11:12:44 PM »

MTU test to router internal IP:

Code: [Select]
ping -n 1 -f -l 1472 192.168.1.254


Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 1472 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=1472 time<1ms TTL=64


Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
    Packets: Sent = 1, Received = 1, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms


Code: [Select]
ping -n 1 -f -l 1464 192.168.1.254


Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 1464 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=1464 time<1ms TTL=64


Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
    Packets: Sent = 1, Received = 1, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

My setup is a HG612 as modem only in bridge mode connected to the ETHWAN port of the ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A MTU 1492.



Hardwired and not using Wi-Fi yes.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2020, 11:18:08 PM by digitalnemesis »
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2072
    • My Broadband History
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2020, 02:57:25 AM »

The strange thing with the HG612 is all its interfaces are locked to 1500 but I still managed to do 1500 on the PPP link.  Never figured out why that worked.

For now I've given up on caring about 1500 though, as I suddenly started to get odd problems with pages not loading. (NOT using the HG612 mind you)
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Voxi 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1034
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2020, 08:46:40 AM »

Hi

Your internal network MTU looks to be running at MTU 1500 (1472 + 28) as no DF shown

Your External IP you showed, on external test from here is running at MTU 1500 (1472 + 28)

Your test from pc to your external IP is not running at MTU 1500 (1472 + 28) but at MTU 1492 (1464 +28)

You have confirmed your router is set at MTU 1492 (1464 + 28) so maximum MTU without DF is 1464 as you have set it is correct

You could set your router MTU at 1500 (1472 + 28) but I thought you had already tried that earlier on forums and stated it did not work well with your connection (Johnson custom firmaware)

I think MTU is not your issue but I am not fully clear what your issue is.

Do you mind me asking if you are using Windows or linux on your computer

Many thanks

John
Logged

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2020, 01:50:08 PM »

Running the latest Windows 10 x64.

Yes I forced MTU 1500 on my router in the past but websites timed out often.

Cheers for the all replies.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2020, 02:16:32 PM by digitalnemesis »
Logged

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1034
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2020, 10:06:57 PM »

Hi

I would try the following below.  The commands needs to be run in Administrator mode, so open command prompt as Administrator and enter after each line

Then restart computer and test if issue has now been resolved.

The below commands will not harm your computer

Many thanks

John

netsh winsock reset

netsh int ipv4 reset

netsh int ipv6 reset

Logged

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: HG612 issue or something else?
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2020, 10:57:22 PM »

Thanks, will give that a whirl and see how things go.
Logged