Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?  (Read 763 times)

cancunia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« on: December 12, 2020, 02:03:00 PM »

Does anyone know about the 2701HGV-C?

Mine was working just fine, but I decided to fix it with some different firmware. I downgraded from 6.3.9.41 to 6.1.1.22 to see if any of the menus would change, but now I can't http into the router & get 'connection refused' on Ethernet & WiFi.
The lights look fine, I get an IP address via DHCP on Ethernet & WiFi. WiFi security is working & using the key on the base of the router. Same with Telnet.
According to the Tripod page it should work, so I'm wondering if I'm just missing something obvious.
http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/066.htm

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32383
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2020, 06:14:50 PM »

Sorry, it has been a very long while since I last used a 2Wire device. I really can't remember any details, as I no longer own nor use one.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

cancunia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2020, 06:57:59 PM »

To be honest, it's not my main router I was just playing and broke it! All a bit academic really, it would be nice to get it working again, but I doubt it'll ever be used again even if I did get it working. It's odd that DHCP is working, but not HTTP. A port scan shows all ports up to 1000 are closed.

During the week I got a 2700HGV,  I downgraded the firmware to 5.29.107.19 so that I could disable the remote management & tweak the wifi power via some html. I connected it to my ADSL this afternoon, it is the fastest I've ever seen my long line go!
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32383
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2020, 08:10:17 PM »

I connected it to my ADSL this afternoon, it is the fastest I've ever seen my long line go!

Yes, that is their plus point.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2266
    • My Broadband History
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2020, 08:10:40 AM »

During the week I got a 2700HGV,  I downgraded the firmware to 5.29.107.19 so that I could disable the remote management & tweak the wifi power via some html. I connected it to my ADSL this afternoon, it is the fastest I've ever seen my long line go!

Yes, it was a very good performer on my line when I had ADSL too.  You really don't want to be using its WiFi though as its grossly out of date.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

cancunia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2020, 08:53:52 AM »

You really don't want to be using its WiFi though as its grossly out of date.

The only problem I've seen so far, and it's not a big problem, is that you can't turn the dual SSID WiFi off on the 2700. But to be fair, the WiFi signal is going to all the parts of my house that the BT HH6 goes but no 5GHz band. More on that in a separate thread.

As far as the 2701 goes, I'm tempted to keep it for a while & see if I can get it talking again. DHCP is working so someone is at home in that box.
Logged

cancunia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2020, 10:55:09 AM »

Seems that there are a few UDP ports open

PORT     STATE         SERVICE     REASON
53/udp   open          domain      udp-response ttl 255
67/udp   open|filtered dhcps       no-response
8000/udp open|filtered irdmi       no-response
8001/udp open|filtered vcom-tunnel no-response
8010/udp open|filtered unknown     no-response
MAC Address: 64:0F:28:91:DA:51 (2Wire)

I'll see what the WAN port does ....
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2266
    • My Broadband History
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2020, 02:59:39 AM »

I mean I suppose the WiFi is serviceable, but newer WiFi standards should be more reliable with multiple clients.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

cancunia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2020, 08:52:35 AM »

I tried the 2701HGV on next door's BT ADSL, it still refused to allow any access so it's off to be recycled today.  :(
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2266
    • My Broadband History
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2020, 02:00:21 PM »

Seems a bit premature, you sure there isn't a TFTP recovery mode?
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

cancunia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: BT 2701HGV-C Bricked after Firmware Downgrade !?
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2020, 02:12:27 PM »

Seems a bit premature, you sure there isn't a TFTP recovery mode?

Not sure, I wondered about that too, but didn't see any recovery images or instructions.  It's gone now, along with some other old ADSL routers. I'm keeping the 2700 whatever...
Logged
 

anything