Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Are most ethernet cables capable of doing poe?  (Read 376 times)

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2176
Are most ethernet cables capable of doing poe?
« on: December 11, 2020, 01:51:03 PM »

I recently bought a cat6 ethernet cable for my network. But this morning one of my cameras stopped working on the nvr cctv unit. I'm trying to figure out if its either the port on the unit that is faulty, the cable, or the camera itself.

Luckily the camera that as stopped working is reachable from the floor. So I'm thinking of disconnecting it from its current ethernet cable (this cable came with the nvr box and is said to be poe) and temporarily connect the cat6 ethernet cable up from the box to the camera just to see if the current cable as gone wrong. Will this work?

This is the ethernet cable I'm thinking of using: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00N2VIALK/

Or will I need to buy a different ethernet cable for it to work?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9752
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Are most ethernet cables capable of doing poe?
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2020, 02:32:16 PM »

No, should be fine.
Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: Are most ethernet cables capable of doing poe?
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2020, 06:08:56 PM »

For PoE I'd go for solid copper conductor cables and avoid copper clad aluminium cables.

Have a read here: https://www.truecable.com/blogs/cable-academy/the-power-of-poe

and here: https://www.truecable.com/blogs/cable-academy/copper-clad-aluminum-vs-copper-fluke-test
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32383
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Are most ethernet cables capable of doing poe?
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2020, 06:15:36 PM »

For PoE I'd go for solid copper conductor cables . . .

For structural cabling, yes. But, in this case, it is a patch cable and, thus, should consist of stranded wires for the required flexibility.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2176
Re: Are most ethernet cables capable of doing poe?
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2020, 09:09:53 PM »

I thought I'd fixed the camera earlier as I did a camera reset and scanned it on the box and it re-appeared. But later it went off again. I suspect its the camera that is faulty, but I'll still do the ethernet test tomorrow as I'll need to remove the camera anyways.

Thanks for the advice guys. Even though I've been around computers most of my life some of the products are either very specific or very broad in definition. It's good to get a little guidance to make sure  :)
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9752
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Are most ethernet cables capable of doing poe?
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2020, 09:44:42 PM »

Iíve done PoE to WAPs before with no problem.
Logged
 

anything