Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Study  (Read 586 times)

Weaver

• Senior Kitizen
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 4x7km ADSL2 lines; Firebrick
Study
« on: December 08, 2020, 03:19:27 AM »

I have recently made a happy discovery, thanks to Janet’s being awake, that the City Lit Institute in Covent Garden, London is now offering online courses delivered using video conferencing software. I studied there for three years before I came to Skye, Scottish Gaelic in the evenings after work. I now have lots of options to study but I can’t do too much at once for fear of exhaustion and in some cases I have missed a September start date so some subjects will have to wait until next year. Things I am interested in: Ancient Greek, Latin refresher, German refresher, Swedish refresher, Modern Welsh (studied Middle Welsh briefly before but that’s some 900 years old), Old English, Scottish Gaelic refresher, Modern Irish and Sanskrit. I had to somehow cut that lot down, so checking for start dates and so forth. I ended up with Janet signing me up for Latin and Welsh and the others will have to wait for later.

Even with four lines combined my upstream is miserable, so I’m hoping it will suffice; 10.8 Mbps downstream TCP payload throughput should be ok for me to see the teacher and not fall over even ever Janet uses the internet, but it’s a real nuisance that I have no QoS support: one of the worst, if not the worst, failings of the Firebricks, the FB6xxx series at AA in this particular case more than my own FB2900. I don’t know if <whatever> app they are using employs QoS. Is QoS support with packet scheduling something that I could add in with a very fancy L3 switch?

Thank god I have such a number of bonded lines, as it gives me 100% uptime effectively, especially when combined with 3G and 4G. The college warns in technical requirements that you need to have a reliable internet connection, unfortunately doesn’t say anything about upstream and downstream throughput.

Weaver