Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900  (Read 994 times)

Bill Moo

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900
« on: November 28, 2020, 01:35:37 PM »

I have a Firebrick 2900 and when I connect my second pppoe connection to it the system becomes unstable meaning I can only run with a single DSL connection. My DSL lines are from BT so don't provide bonding so I need to configure them myself to load balance, but this is where I'm stuck.

I have of course looked at the Manual it says load balancing can be done but there is nothing else that shows how it is done.

Is anyone able to point me in the right with this please.

--
Bill
Logged
--
Bill

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9991
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2021, 12:26:52 AM »

Apologies for the ridiculously belated reply.  :(

You need an ISP that supports bonding otherwise this isnít going to work. Your machines on your LAN and the Firebrick itself need to have addresses that are on both WAN linksí networks otherwise the downstream traffic doesnít know to use both lines.

Talk to AA or whoever about this and they will help you with the config. I can show you a snippet of config which is a group of <ppp /> elements, one per line.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2882
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2021, 02:57:00 AM »

You need an ISP that supports bonding otherwise this isnít going to work. Your machines on your LAN and the Firebrick itself need to have addresses that are on both WAN linksí networks otherwise the downstream traffic doesnít know to use both lines.

I think you are mistaken, it clearly states the Firebrick can do NAT so should easily be able to load balance multiple WAN connections.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2xHome Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen/Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD (OpenWRT) + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9991
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2021, 05:11:58 AM »

Youíre right. I was thinking about full IP bonding with load-splitting per flow, so that say a single TCP connection goes at double speed. I donít know what is supposed to happen with the downstream at the two ISPís ends though. It makes my brain hurt and I defer to you.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2882
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2021, 07:24:38 PM »

What should happen is both gateways are assigned the same tier so traffic will NAT in a round-robin fashion with each alternative session being assigned to the next gateway.  Its invisible to the LAN side except on the rare occasion you have a website that uses your IP address as a method of security for your session (bad practice IMO) as 99% of the time all you care about is the data arrives from the router, how it arrives is of zero interest.

One thing that dismays me about the Firebrick is how complicated it seems to be to setup.  Its simple compared to other devices of its class I suppose, but having to visualise everything via the XML file makes it a no-go for me.  If I wanted to do everything the hard way I'd use a stock Linux distro like I did decades ago on dialup.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2xHome Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen/Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD (OpenWRT) + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9991
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2021, 01:48:36 AM »

Some misunderstanding here. The Brick has the same web GUI with knobs and buttons as any other firewall-router. These knobs generate XML which you can later view or edit in the Brick.

I just prefer the XML because Iím an old hacker - I can read it, edit it offline, diff it, archive old versions. Iíve even written an XML preprocessor - versions in AWK and in iOS Shortcuts - which processes the XML, takes ifdef-style directives and can be used to convert an FB2700/2900-format file into an FB2500-format one by taking out references to USB/dongle-related elements. XML is for me the absolute killer advantage of the Brick if you have a complex config. But thatís just me.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2882
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2021, 02:26:45 AM »

Some misunderstanding here. The Brick has the same web GUI with knobs and buttons as any other firewall-router. These knobs generate XML which you can later view or edit in the Brick.

I was basing it on looking at the demo UI on the 2900 and couldn't find the settings.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2xHome Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen/Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD (OpenWRT) + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9991
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2021, 10:55:11 AM »

Under Config > Edit :



And hereís a little snippet of XML:

Code: [Select]
<ppp name="PPP1" port="Port-WAN" vlan="101" username="cwcc@a.1" password="pass" graph="Graph-PPP1" lcp-rate="1" lcp-timeout="5" mtu="1500" auto-percent="84"
    comment="Modem=ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A custom firmware MTU 1508; line=BT 21CN ADSL2; PPPoEoA; assumed PDU size=1500 + ovh.=32; using protocol efficiency factor = 0.8844339622642; Modem load factor=95%"/>
<ppp name="PPP2" port="Port-WAN" vlan="102" username="cwcc@a.2" password="pass" graph="Graph-PPP2" lcp-rate="1" lcp-timeout="5" mtu="1500" auto-percent="84" comment="Modem load factor=95%"/>
<ppp name="PPP3" port="Port-WAN" vlan="103" username="cwcc@a.3" password="pass" graph="Graph-PPP3" lcp-rate="1" lcp-timeout="5" mtu="1500" auto-percent="84" comment="Modem load factor=95%"/>
<ppp name="PPP4" port="Port-WAN" vlan="104" username="cwcc@a.4" password="pass" graph="Graph-PPP4" lcp-rate="1" lcp-timeout="5" mtu="1500" auto-percent="84" comment="Modem load factor=95%"/>
« Last Edit: March 14, 2021, 11:05:28 AM by Weaver »
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2882
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Using dual DSL lines on Firebrick 2900
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2021, 09:58:11 PM »

Not sure how I missed that.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2xHome Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen/Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD (OpenWRT) + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors
 

anything