Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: xDSL Patch Cables  (Read 670 times)

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1266
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2020, 01:27:52 AM »

:no: 2017 firmware  :no:

@adslmax how long have you had this Hub One?

I have asked Bob Pullen to sent me new firmware still waiting!
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9302
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2020, 01:33:23 AM »

You would have to o several measurements to rule out the effects of DLM - see https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,15905.msg307641.html#msg307641
Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1266
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2020, 01:36:19 AM »

I did that 30 minutes to wait before change new dsl cable. No affect in DLM so far. Seem strange Hub One has the best lower line attenuation at 10.6 much better than my other routers with new dsl cable.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9302
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2020, 01:41:24 AM »

No, the thing is that just unplugging the modem causes a resynch which can cause figures to change, so two resynchs are better, as in that tiresome test procedure.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1738
    • My Broadband History
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2020, 07:31:01 PM »

Which of course runs the risk of triggering DLM, making the whole procedure not worth the hassle.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 739
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #20 on: November 22, 2020, 07:34:39 PM »

Seem strange Hub One has the best lower line attenuation at 10.6 much better than my other routers with new dsl cable.
Which given the difference in chipset and how small the margin is anyway, it's not strange at all.
Logged
ISP: Zen - G.fast 330/50

Gigaclear for 2021? Maybe it's too late.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1738
    • My Broadband History
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #21 on: November 22, 2020, 07:57:10 PM »

The way I see it, most of these statistics are estimates anyway and no two modem firmwares, let alone chipsets, necessarily use the same maths to reach their result.  No two modems will have exactly the same sensitivity, no two seconds will have exactly the same line characteristics.  Its all estimations, so most fluctuations are margin of error or just different implementations.

The only true indication of a difference in cable performance is a consistently repeatable change in the error rates on the same line and hardware.  In 99.9% of cases, changing the cable will make zero measurable difference.

The only time its likely to make any difference is if the cable is bad or you have a long flat cable coiled up next to other equipment that is emitting very specific frequencies of RFI.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1990
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #22 on: November 22, 2020, 08:30:00 PM »

I'm really averse to reply to this thread because I feel like each response just encourages @adslmax to become obsessed with something else, I really would advise for their own wellbeing that we stop humouring what is clearly a mental health issue.
Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1266
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #23 on: November 22, 2020, 11:56:27 PM »

Which of course runs the risk of triggering DLM, making the whole procedure not worth the hassle.

Still no DLM action yet as far as I can seen.

1. Product name:Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number:*******************
3. Firmware version:Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2 Last updated 10/11/17
4. Board version:Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime:4 days, 19:55:23
6. Data rate:19999 / 79903
7. Maximum data rate:23796 / 83018
8. Noise margin:15.3 / 6.7
9. Line attenuation:12.1 / 10.6
10. Signal attenuation:11.9 / 10.6
11. Data sent/received:6.3 GB / 95.4 GB
12. Broadband username:********************
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID:******* 2.4GHz
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections:Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 300 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security:WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel:1
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID:********* 5GHz
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections:Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security:WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel:44
21. Firewall:Default
22. MAC Address:*****************
Logged

twinkletoes

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #24 on: November 23, 2020, 12:13:29 AM »

Max, please stop the obsession with line stats every day and just use the internet! I recently got my full sync back about a month ago after two years of slower speeds and with the same patch cable I bought about 5 years ago.
Logged

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #25 on: November 23, 2020, 10:39:02 AM »

@adslmax have you got access to telnet or ssh, as we could use something like this to look at the lantiq modem in more detail:

https://github.com/moeller0/lantiq_dsl_parser

Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1738
    • My Broadband History
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #26 on: November 23, 2020, 01:59:15 PM »

Still no DLM action yet as far as I can seen.

But why risk it?  You literally have nothing to gain as you already have full sync!
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1266
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #27 on: November 23, 2020, 02:36:28 PM »

Look like DLM banded has been disabled by last visit from Openreach engineer few years ago as when he come here he using his tool and phone up DLM data center to resetted DLM and probably disabled any future banded on the line because I haven't seen my line been banded ever since.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3155
Re: xDSL Patch Cables
« Reply #28 on: November 23, 2020, 02:50:09 PM »

Look like DLM banded has been disabled by last visit from Openreach engineer few years ago as when he come here he using his tool and phone up DLM data center to resetted DLM and probably disabled any future banded on the line because I haven't seen my line been banded ever since.

Highly unlikely. Such an option doesn't exist.

The last time your line was banded there was something happening at your cabinet (probably maintenance as it was around 1am) and your line resynced about a dozen times.

DLM shouldn't be banding a line for swapping a patch cable once or twice.
The fact it hasn't banded your line isn't some magical setting by an engineer it's just the DLM working properly.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test
Pages: 1 [2]