Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?  (Read 979 times)

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?
« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2020, 09:07:01 PM »

Damn. Tubamanís ebay man, wretch that he is, does not post to the Highlands (or the Isle of Wight, so itís stupidity not racism). Grrr.  >:(  But luckily I found an alternative, sane ebay seller and bought one. £10 and free postage.

I have a lot of VMG 1312-B10As and some of them came from France with annoying European PSUs for which Janet fitted adapters in order to get the PSUs to fit into UK mains sockets. If that ebay purchase turns out to be a good one, then I might swap out all the foreign PSUs and put them into the spares bag.

There is a giant humungous carrier bag in Janetís office cum dressing room, which is called ďBertís BarrowĒ because there is no Bert and it isnít a wheelbarrow. ???  All loose kit that Janet might lose track of goes in there: eg assorted cables, other small items, and spare modems are in it or near it close by on shelves. The idea is that after constantly losing things, there is nowadays only one place to go to - Bertís Barrow - and the law is that when anything arrives, it must be placed immediately into Bertís Barrow and nowhere else, apart from one exception which is being placed on the stairs heading in the upstairs direction waiting until Janetís next trip upstairs.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1759
    • My Broadband History
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?
« Reply #16 on: September 29, 2020, 09:53:55 PM »

This works fine - https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-BT-Home-Hub-5-Type-B-Power-supply-12V-2A-WILL-NOT-WORK-WITH-TYPE-A/174441136397?epid=1891896714&hash=item289d80810d:g:oJQAAOSwsnldD8P1 - it's what my 8924 has been running happily on for a few years now (must be 'Type B').
 :)

Are the cables on those as long as the Type A?  Because if there is one thing I love about HH5A is the loooooong PSU cable, its rare to find any PSU with a cable that long.

Come to think of it, I think they are as I believe that is what I'm running the porch LED strip off.  ::)
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 389
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?
« Reply #17 on: September 29, 2020, 10:13:02 PM »

Logged

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 389
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?
« Reply #18 on: September 29, 2020, 10:14:23 PM »

Damn. Tubamanís ebay man, wretch that he is, does not post to the Highlands (or the Isle of Wight, so itís stupidity not racism). Grrr.  >:(  But luckily I found an alternative, sane ebay seller and bought one. £10 and free postage.

I have a lot of VMG 1312-B10As and some of them came from France with annoying European PSUs for which Janet fitted adapters in order to get the PSUs to fit into UK mains sockets. If that ebay purchase turns out to be a good one, then I might swap out all the foreign PSUs and put them into the spares bag.

There is a giant humungous carrier bag in Janetís office cum dressing room, which is called ďBertís BarrowĒ because there is no Bert and it isnít a wheelbarrow. ???  All loose kit that Janet might lose track of goes in there: eg assorted cables, other small items, and spare modems are in it or near it close by on shelves. The idea is that after constantly losing things, there is nowadays only one place to go to - Bertís Barrow - and the law is that when anything arrives, it must be placed immediately into Bertís Barrow and nowhere else, apart from one exception which is being placed on the stairs heading in the upstairs direction waiting until Janetís next trip upstairs.


What's Tubaman's link to the adapter?
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?
« Reply #19 on: September 29, 2020, 10:22:48 PM »

See earlier post https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,25200.msg422911.html#msg422911

Tubaman posted a link to an ebay seller (in the post linked to above) who refuses to ship to many parts of Britain even, fool that the seller is. (Not Tubaman!!) Does that make sense?
Logged

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1060
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?
« Reply #20 on: September 30, 2020, 01:09:14 AM »

I got another reboot tonight but this was in the log "Out of MDM shared memory need to reboot ". Looks like I will be using the VMG-1312-B10A in bridge mode.

Found https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=15038.45 for the 8924.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2020, 01:44:28 AM by banger »
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6251
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?
« Reply #21 on: September 30, 2020, 08:42:44 AM »

See earlier post https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,25200.msg422911.html#msg422911

Tubaman posted a link to an ebay seller (in the post linked to above) who refuses to ship to many parts of Britain even, fool that the seller is. (Not Tubaman!!) Does that make sense?

When they claim to be using Royal Mail I just don't understand why they won't ship to all of the UK - the price is the same!
The PSU I recommended for burakkucat was actually a Homehub 3 Type A variety, as he was asking for a VMG1312 and not VMG8924. The router end plug is the same however, just that the VMG1312 only needs a 1000mA rated unit rather than the VMG8924's 2000mA
I hope the one you have bought is ok as it's not an OEM part but a generic replacement. I've had mixed luck with such PSUs in the past (in a different application - haven't tried for a router).
 :)
 
« Last Edit: September 30, 2020, 08:46:06 AM by tubaman »
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?
« Reply #22 on: September 30, 2020, 10:44:39 AM »

Yes, I thought so from the photo. Taking a chance here, but for £10 Iíll roll the dice.
Logged

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 389
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A rebooting automatically?
« Reply #23 on: October 19, 2020, 08:34:02 AM »

I was curious so tested a 12V 1.5A switch mode power supply I found from another router and so far no reboots in around 4 days of uptime/DSL sync!  :fingers: :fingers: I don't use the USB ports on the router so I think it should be fine.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]