Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Why is there increased noise in my QLN graph?  (Read 440 times)

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 389
Why is there increased noise in my QLN graph?
« on: October 15, 2020, 07:37:06 PM »

 :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: This noise resulted in ~5 Mbps downstream sync loss.





Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31097
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Why is there increased noise in my QLN graph?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2020, 07:50:36 PM »

There is more cross-talk in the D3 band . . . and there is nothing you can do about it.

Perhaps at the next circuit re-train it will look different. If it doesn't then you will have to accept that (perhaps) there has been another VDSL2 service provisioned, whose pair run close to those of your circuit.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 389
Re: Why is there increased noise in my QLN graph?
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2020, 08:36:21 AM »

Thank you!


Does it look unlikely to be a duff NTE5 MK1/MK3 filter or Cat5e type RJ11 RJ45 cable? I'm trying to exhaust all options within my home.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2020, 08:42:54 AM by digitalnemesis »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31097
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Why is there increased noise in my QLN graph?
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2020, 04:22:26 PM »

Does it look unlikely to be a duff NTE5 MK1/MK3 filter or Cat5e type RJ11 RJ45 cable? I'm trying to exhaust all options within my home.

I very much doubt it. The simplest way to check, of course, is via direct substitution.

Do you actually use the line for a telephone service? If the answer is no, then there is no real need for the SSFP. The modem/router has an internal high-pass filter immediately after the xDSL socket and only that is required if there is never any telephony usage on the line.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.