Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Why did i lose tones suddenly?  (Read 662 times)

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« on: October 08, 2020, 11:40:43 AM »

What is causing gaps in the higher frequencies all of a sudden? My sync dropped as a result. I didn't touch anything and the phone line has no noise when I listen to it.





« Last Edit: October 08, 2020, 11:43:00 AM by digitalnemesis »
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1697
  • Software Defined WAN deployment engineer
Re: Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2020, 12:29:24 PM »

Noise.

Those frequencies are miles beyond what the human ear can hear - way into ultrasonic and way beyond even a bat's hearing.

As far as what it is no idea. Could be direct interference or a higher frequency disturber rippling down.

Could even be a new customer connecting and their VDSL interfering with yours.

Take your pick. If you are still within the range of your service assume not a fault but the sad way of xDSL.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120
Routing: pfSense VM
Switching: Mikrotik 2* CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 1 * CRS309-1G-8S+; various cheap and cheerful TP-Link/Netgear
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Zen Full Fibre 900.

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6354
Re: Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2020, 04:17:07 PM »

As Carl said really, if it was sudden, and during working hours, then most likely cause is a new disturber.  Part and parcel of VDSL sadly.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2020, 09:04:57 AM »

Could an electric vehicle charging station on the same street as the FTTC box I'm connected to cause interference?
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1884
    • My Broadband History
Re: Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2020, 01:13:26 PM »

Anything electrical can.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
Re: Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2020, 08:18:21 AM »


Hi

Could an electric vehicle charging station on the same street as the FTTC box I'm connected to cause interference?

Yes potentially but very unlikely given it's new kit to modern standards, probably just cross-talk from someone else coming on line, I had this happen several times on ADSL and VDSL at different properties, and you just have to accept that xDSL typically only ever degrades from your starting point.

Regards

Phil

Logged

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2020, 09:35:23 AM »

Thanks for the replies.


Does crosstalk affect the higher frequencies more?


I recall I used to sync around 60 MBps around 9 years ago then over the years gradually decreased to around 40 Mbps. I even had a pair swap after much effort.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9491
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2020, 10:48:04 AM »

Does crosstalk affect the higher frequencies more.

I don’t know. But I have never read anything to that effect.  ???

I would suspect that it is not the case. However because fewer bits per bin will be in use up in that part of the range, the modem will be less interested in a certain given voltage of noise, ie x V will be equivalent to fewer bits. I hope that my more experienced colleagues will comment on this.  :-\

Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
Re: Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2020, 11:31:42 AM »

Thanks for the replies.


Does crosstalk affect the higher frequencies more?


I recall I used to sync around 60 MBps around 9 years ago then over the years gradually decreased to around 40 Mbps. I even had a pair swap after much effort.

Higher frequencies are always affected more by noise as they are harder to hear, and cross talk is just noise, also it isn't just about noise, often your modem might start using a lower power for various reasons, perhaps because it is disturbing someone else badly.  You need to know historically what power your modem was transmitting and receiving at over the years to get a better picture of what the changes are.

At the end of the day there is very little you can do about crosstalk or general noise and most people have seen their VDSL connects get slower unless they had tonnes of margin at the start being very close to the cab.  For example when I was on VDSL my margin was around 8db (reduced from 10 when I first went live), during a power-cut it shot up to 15db because everyone was knocked off apart from me on a UPS, so cross talk accounted for 7 or 8db of loss.

Regards

Phil
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1884
    • My Broadband History
Re: Why did i lose tones suddenly?
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2020, 12:37:36 PM »

Higher frequencies are always affected more by noise as they are harder to hear, and cross talk is just noise, also it isn't just about noise, often your modem might start using a lower power for various reasons, perhaps because it is disturbing someone else badly.  You need to know historically what power your modem was transmitting and receiving at over the years to get a better picture of what the changes are.

At the end of the day there is very little you can do about crosstalk or general noise and most people have seen their VDSL connects get slower unless they had tonnes of margin at the start being very close to the cab.  For example when I was on VDSL my margin was around 8db (reduced from 10 when I first went live), during a power-cut it shot up to 15db because everyone was knocked off apart from me on a UPS, so cross talk accounted for 7 or 8db of loss.

Regards

Phil

Even being close the cabinet doesn't necessarily save you.

2012 Digital Region
Code: [Select]
Max: Upstream rate = 21056 Kbps, Downstream rate = 121876 Kbps
Path: 0, Upstream rate = 10999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 43997 Kbps

Down Up
SNR (dB): 30.5 15.8
Attn(dB): 0.0 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 10.7 -9.2
2013 Digital Region
Code: [Select]
Max: Upstream rate = 30160 Kbps, Downstream rate = 130440 Kbps
Path: 0, Upstream rate = 28965 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69993 Kbps

Down Up
SNR (dB): 22.8 6.6
Attn(dB): 0.0 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 10.7 -8.9
2014 Digital Region (Line card swap)
Code: [Select]
Max: Upstream rate = 34185 Kbps, Downstream rate = 114628 Kbps
Path: 0, Upstream rate = 34077 Kbps, Downstream rate = 99999 Kbps

Down Up
SNR (dB): 10.4 6.1
Attn(dB): 0.0 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 14.0 -7.0
2015 Openreach
Code: [Select]
Max: Upstream rate = 32594 Kbps, Downstream rate = 93908 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

Down Up
SNR (dB): 9.9 14.8
Attn(dB): 13.5 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.8 6.6
2016 Openreach
Code: [Select]
Max: Upstream rate = 31746 Kbps, Downstream rate = 90628 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

Down Up
SNR (dB): 9.1 12.9
Attn(dB): 13.6 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.8 5.2
2017
Code: [Select]
Max: Upstream rate = 32363 Kbps, Downstream rate = 91712 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

Down Up
SNR (dB): 9.3 13.0
Attn(dB): 13.2 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.9 2.8
2018
Code: [Select]
Max: Upstream rate = 29593 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69656 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69892 Kbps

Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.1 12.6
Attn(dB): 13.2 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.8 5.2
2019
Code: [Select]
Max: Upstream rate = 26585 Kbps, Downstream rate = 68416 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69129 Kbps

Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.1 10.0
Attn(dB): 13.6 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.7 6.3
2020
Code: [Select]
Max:    Upstream rate = 24780 Kbps, Downstream rate = 62313 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 62249 Kbps

                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        6.4             7.6
Attn(dB):        13.9            0.0
Pwr(dBm):        13.7            5.3

I'm having to load balance two lines to get the speed I had from one in 2014.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2020, 12:47:32 PM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors