Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Billion router web site  (Read 654 times)

Octal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Billion router web site
« on: September 29, 2020, 08:49:51 AM »

Is anyone else having a problem connecting with the Billion web site? I'm getting server not found the only one I can connect to is this one.

https://uk.billion.com/

I wanted to update the firmware but that link is broken:

http://www.billion.uk.com/esupport/index.php?/Knowledgebase/Article/View/428/119/latest-bipac-8800nl-r2-firmware-252d15

I hope they haven't gone out of business  :(
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9483
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2020, 09:48:53 AM »

DNS: thereís an A record for uk.billion.com which is 223.27.48.97.

Ping to it fails, but that doesnít mean too much. Trying to connect to port 80, there is an http server there. But trying to talk to port 443 for TLS / https, that just times out. So it seems that there is a misconfigured web server there, or else the A record is wrong.

However, trying to resolve billion.uk.com just gives me nothing in the DNS. There is a record for www.billion.uk.com which is just a CNAME to billion.uk.com which seems to not exist. That was using my own usual DNS servers. So I got the same as you, I suspect.

Now it gets weirder. Using the DNS server 1.1.1.1, resolving billion.uk.com does give an answer: an A record pointing to 217.194.215.4

So it seems the DNS is inconsistent. Someone has changed something and the results havenít propagate through, or who knows what?
« Last Edit: September 29, 2020, 10:13:37 AM by Weaver »
Logged

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 945
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2020, 10:23:30 AM »

both URLs are working fine for me
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9483
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2020, 10:28:35 AM »

Would someone else also try this?
Logged

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 421
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2020, 10:29:18 AM »

Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3266
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2020, 10:30:16 AM »

Both working here
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 421
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2020, 10:35:22 AM »

It was down earlier, but now all ok :fingers:
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9483
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2020, 11:07:48 AM »

Could the OP and I have been experiencing the result of negative caching? The negative caching timeout is 86400 s, if I am reading it correctly.
Logged

Octal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2020, 11:25:31 AM »

That's interesting, I can open the site on my mobile phone via 4G but not via PlusNet.

I got switched over to FTTC yesterday, I'm wondering if that is something to do with and it's possible if I wait the block might be released at some point.
Logged

Octal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2020, 11:33:50 AM »

I just tried a traceroute and it doesn't seems to exist

Quote
paul@paul-PC-X010801:~$ mtr --report billion.uk.com
mtr: Failed to resolve host: billion.uk.com: No address associated with hostname
Logged

Octal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2020, 11:54:54 AM »

I've managed to download the file and put it into my Dropbox so I can access it, it's still strange about the web sites though. Thanks for those that have replied, it seems to be my issue if no one else is getting it.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32583
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2020, 12:05:31 PM »

Can reach both urls here.   I'm with PN too.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9483
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2020, 12:20:23 PM »

@octal no, I saw the same as you. Iím agreeing with you - it just seems to be a very inconsistent state of affairs amongst caching dns resolvers if Iím seeing this correctly.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9483
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2020, 12:22:44 PM »

The answer (from my ISP, AA):
ó
billion.uk.com's dns is looking broken - the name servers (as per whois) are:

 Name Server: NS1.BILLION.UK.COM
 Name Server: NS2.BILLION.UK.COM

but, when you query them, the response saying the NS is actually a different set of nameservers:

 ns1.hostinguk.net. and ns2.hostinguk.net.

If you query ns1 or ns2.hostinguk.net for A records for billion.uk.com, then the A record is not returned. These nameservers are broken.

Seems Billion need to fix their DNS...
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9483
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Billion router web site
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2020, 12:28:36 PM »

Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything