Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: 2db SNRM...?  (Read 729 times)

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1299
2db SNRM...?
« on: September 25, 2020, 07:26:50 AM »

hi everyone

my router has rebooted a few times the last 3 days but for 27 hours has been stuck on this same stats just 2.2db SNRM  (and Interleaving up from 1100 to 1400)


DSLAM type / SW version:   IFTN:0xb206 (178.6) / v0xb206
Modem/router firmware:     AnnexA version - A2pv6F039v.d26a
DSL mode:                  VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                    Showtime
Uptime:                    1 day 3 hours 37 min 13 sec
Resyncs:                   0 (since 25 Sep 2020 07:07:42)
         
            Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     14.3      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not available on VDSL2      
Connection speed (kbps):   75954      20000
SNR margin (dB):           2.3      8.2
Power (dBm):               3.4      3.4
Interleave depth:          1487      1
INP:                       3.00      0
G.INP:                     Not enabled      Not enabled
Vectoring status:          5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)      

RSCorr/RS (%):             0.4024      0.0047
RSUnCorr/RS (%):           0.0006      0.0000
ES/hour:                   0      0

the entire village is being updated with FTTP (mines done) and various ISPs are allowed access to some or all of the tiers  (probably cost of technology used  to acquire said speeds as some could still get thos 100Mb and 145Mb speeds over from the pod on copper i reckon and higher tiers will require a visit for an optical line and modem fitted)

anyway i wonder if its related?

could i be on 3db profile just been eaten into? i expected it to resync at 3am as thats the time they usually do back to 63MB with 6.3db

ideas?

cheers
Logged
Zyxel VMG8924-B10A <-> PlusNET <-> Eci DSLAM
Sync: 64,000k <-> INP: ON <-> FTTP available :) 900Mbps +5G EE Mobile

pxr5

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: 2db SNRM...?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2020, 12:50:20 PM »

No idea, but my line has been at 3.4db for the last 29 days since the last resync (ECI cab). Normally sits at 6.3db.
Logged

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 460
Re: 2db SNRM...?
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2020, 12:58:20 PM »

Mine was @ 2db for a few days until I was booted off :( ECI cab
Logged
Vodafone FTTC ECI cab 40/20Mb connection / Fritzbox7590

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3365
Re: 2db SNRM...?
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2020, 03:20:47 PM »

ECI cabinets only have 6dB profiles.

You connected before some crosstalkers. The whole DSLAM was likely rebooted.

Unrelated to any FTTP rollout.

The DLM also never moves straight from 6dB to 3dB but goes in 1dB increments, with a couple days at least between each step.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

pxr5

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: 2db SNRM...?
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2020, 03:14:07 PM »

ECI cabinets only have 6dB profiles.

You connected before some crosstalkers. The whole DSLAM was likely rebooted.

Unrelated to any FTTP rollout.

The DLM also never moves straight from 6dB to 3dB but goes in 1dB increments, with a couple days at least between each step.

So why have I been on 3.4db for 30 days now? I don't understand.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3365
Re: 2db SNRM...?
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2020, 03:40:27 PM »

There's a dozen reasons why the SNRM doesn't run to target.

The fact your line jumped straight from 6dB to 3dB in itself shows it isn't the DLM setting that target.

There's probably over 100 instances on this forum of ECI lines appearing to be on 3dB that weren't, including lines that resyncs at 3dB.

There have been threads that were many pages long with dozens of examples of lines at 3dB and not a single 1 of them was a target set by the DLM.

OpenReach have confirmed numerous times over the years that ECI lines haven't been part of any 3dB trials or the full rollout yet examples always pop up.

The ECI G.INP trial has hit another issue.

If they were going to trial lower dB targets on ECI cabinets it would need briefed to CP's.
They need kept in the loop on fundamentals like that.
Every stage of the Huawei dB trials was communicated to CP's in advance.
There has been no such briefings.

If it ever does come to ECI cabinets it will be briefed.
It will follow the Huawei dB process by moving in 1dB increments.

It makes no sense to try lower dB SNRM targets without working G.INP.
It makes less sense to jump straight to 3dB, the lowest possible target, without ever having even tried 5dB or 4dB.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9755
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: 2db SNRM...?
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2020, 08:50:14 PM »

And from my experience running long term ADSL2 at 3dB downstream SNRM, there’s a world of difference between 3dB and 6dB in terms of reliability. Any problems at all and 3dB means packet loss and I have had to go up to 6dB if a line is poor. I have downstream PhyR, the equivalent of G.INP, which improves things enormously. Without it I doubt that running at SNR below 3dB d/s would be reliable.
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1299
Re: 2db SNRM...?
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2020, 02:36:23 PM »

I've just realised that my profile must still be on 60 as that's all im getting even synced at 75Mbps (over G-bit LAN)

DSLAM type / SW version:   IFTN:0xb206 (178.6) / v0xb206
Modem/router firmware:     AnnexA version - A2pv6F039v.d26a
DSL mode:                  VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                    Showtime
Uptime:                    3 days 10 hours 56 min 28 sec
Resyncs:                   0 (since 27 Sep 2020 10:01:03)
         
            Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     14.3      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not available on VDSL2      
Connection speed (kbps):   75954      20000
SNR margin (dB):           2.3      8.5
Power (dBm):               3.4      3.4
Interleave depth:          1487      1
INP:                       3.00      0
G.INP:                     Not enabled      Not enabled
Vectoring status:          5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)      

RSCorr/RS (%):             0.3682      0.0193
RSUnCorr/RS (%):           0.0005      0.0000
ES/hour:                   1.09      0.87

whats this all about?
Logged
Zyxel VMG8924-B10A <-> PlusNET <-> Eci DSLAM
Sync: 64,000k <-> INP: ON <-> FTTP available :) 900Mbps +5G EE Mobile
 

anything