Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM  (Read 1484 times)

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1092
  • TTB 80/20
DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« on: September 07, 2020, 10:45:59 PM »

How long does it take for DLM to re-instate 3db. I had a port swap today and my SNRM has gone back up to 6db although G,INP is on which is a relief?
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31936
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2020, 10:58:56 PM »

All being well and with no forced circuit retrains the stepwise process should start soon. I would be surprised if the DLM has not tried the first step ( 6 --> 5 dB) within seven days.

[Edited to fix a typo.]
« Last Edit: September 17, 2020, 05:01:38 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1092
  • TTB 80/20
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2020, 11:02:05 PM »

Many thanks.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1092
  • TTB 80/20
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2020, 01:40:26 AM »

Still waiting.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1092
  • TTB 80/20
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2020, 11:46:44 PM »

Still no sign although what with power cuts and routers rebooting DLM maybe seeing the line as unstable.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31936
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2020, 12:12:29 AM »

Assuming that you are using the two box solution, as shown in your signature block, then the DLM process will only be interested in the stability of the link between the VMG1312-B10A and the DSLAM. It (the DLM process) will have no knowledge of (or interest in) the Asus router.

If the modem has undergone a number of power cycles, thus link re-trains, then I wouldn't like to attempt to guess when the DLM process will decide that the link is stable.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1092
  • TTB 80/20
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2020, 12:31:57 AM »

As far as I can tell the VMG-1312-B10A dropped sync and retrained as sync has gone down 2 mbits. The router is downstairs and my Computer is upstairs via ethernet cable so I was unable to tell if the lights went off and there is nothing of note in the log for tonight.

I am using the VMG-1312-B10A as a router and the Asus AC68U as an access point as the Zyxel feels slightly quicker routing pages to my computer I have kept it that way since initial testing just havent updated my sig. I have had 90 days uptime out of the Zyxel in bridge mode previously.

I am toying with the idea of going back to bridge mode on the Zyxel but unsure of the Asus WAN stability although I do have some tweaks to try to Max Echo failure value.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2020, 12:40:25 AM by banger »
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31936
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2020, 04:27:18 PM »

Understood. Thank you.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1092
  • TTB 80/20
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2020, 10:13:20 PM »

Do you get a sync drop on DLM reset? I have asked Uno for a DLM reset.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31936
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2020, 11:51:49 PM »

Not being a user of a VDSL2 based service, I have no end-user's experience of a DLM reset. So I would wait for other members to comment.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2061
    • My Broadband History
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2020, 07:14:48 AM »

Do you get a sync drop on DLM reset? I have asked Uno for a DLM reset.

You should do yes, usually around 2am I believe.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Voxi 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1092
  • TTB 80/20
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2020, 07:55:58 AM »

Thanks Alex.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1092
  • TTB 80/20
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2020, 09:03:47 PM »

My ISP has reported that a reset has been put through but no line drop.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31936
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2020, 10:04:52 PM »

My ISP has reported that a reset has been put through . . .

I wonder if they mean that they have made the request but it has yet to be actioned?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1092
  • TTB 80/20
Re: DLM and 3 dB Target SNRM
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2020, 12:28:27 AM »

We wait.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything