Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: What happens if you keep your copper line even when FTTP is available?  (Read 741 times)

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2186

I had a thought. It might be built on misinformation and my question might be way off.. but I thought I'd ask anyway.

If someone who doesn't order a FTTP product (and the FTTP cables are at the post/manhole) what happens to their copper line? It goes from the property to the post/manhole, but is there still a copper line going back to the cabinet?

If they decide to take a FTTP product but don't take the phone package then is the copper line left there?

If they take the FTTP and phone product would the copper line be removed completely?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3396
Re: What happens if you keep your copper line even when FTTP is available?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2020, 03:36:17 PM »

When FTTP is installed the copper line is left where it is.
It still runs right from property to cabinet, and then on to the exchange.
They haven't done any copper removal at all.

If you take FTTP without a voice package then the copper is left in place.
A customer may wish to order a landline or an FTTC service in addition to FTTP.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
Re: What happens if you keep your copper line even when FTTP is available?
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2020, 09:17:56 AM »

Hi

Just to confirm, as others have said, with our underground feed a separate fibre connection was pulled through the same ducting and the copper telephone line was left as is.

Regards

Phil
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2365
    • Broadband History, Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral Link
Re: What happens if you keep your copper line even when FTTP is available?
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2020, 12:08:10 AM »

How would it work if I have two lines, I know the fibre only contains one pair?

Would they move one line into that pair or just leave it inactive with both lines on my old drop cable?

In all honesty I will probably cancel my second line once FTTP is available to avoid having two drop wires, unless of course there is fibre with two pairs available?
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD + Honor Router 3
Ping Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

S.Stephenson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 527
Re: What happens if you keep your copper line even when FTTP is available?
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2020, 03:08:32 AM »

I dint think they ever remove lines as when I had a line relocated to the other side of the house the old damaged dropwire was left in place.

I have 2 active lines both running to the back of the house and 1 dodgy dropwire at the front.

I doubt any copper will be removed until all copper services are discontinued and a mass removal program is started.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3396
Re: What happens if you keep your copper line even when FTTP is available?
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2020, 12:35:11 PM »

How would it work if I have two lines, I know the fibre only contains one pair?

Would they move one line into that pair or just leave it inactive with both lines on my old drop cable?

In all honesty I will probably cancel my second line once FTTP is available to avoid having two drop wires, unless of course there is fibre with two pairs available?

My fibre cable doesn't contain a copper pair.

The original 2 pair copper drop cable was left in place.

If you get a combined fibre/copper drop wire they can leave your current copper drop wire in place if you ask.
They will need to leave it in place if both pairs are active anyway.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test