Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: FTTC Speed and DLM Issues  (Read 583 times)

art37

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
FTTC Speed and DLM Issues
« on: August 22, 2020, 12:07:50 PM »

For 18 months, my FTTC line  (AAISP with copper pair) was very stable resulting in sync speeds in the range 80 to 76M. Over the past 6 months, my sync speed has fallen to 54.4M with interleaving; 0.2M above the handback figure. I had G.INP for a few days but this has now disappeared.

I am impressed with AAISP and I would be very reluctant to leave them. If all their efforts come to nought, would a switch to a SOGEA FTTC ISP result in a cheap 'lift and switch' to new ports within the DSLAM or is my existing copper pair effectively a SOGEA connection?
Logged

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
Re: FTTC Speed and DLM Issues
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2020, 01:01:55 PM »

Can you post full line stats?
Logged

art37

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: FTTC Speed and DLM Issues
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2020, 01:28:20 PM »

Sadly, I can't at the moment as my router is connected to a test modem. Typical stats last week were:

Current Throughput 53.8D and 18.5U

G.INP OFF

INP   3D  0U

SNR  6  6

Line Attenuation 16D  21U

Line Length 371 Metres

The impacted handback threshold is 53.2.

As I write. AAISP have just advised that they intend to see what moving me from TT to BT backhaul does. They think that they may have identified a TT backhaul issue but TT is not playing ball.

Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3317
Re: FTTC Speed and DLM Issues
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2020, 02:21:35 PM »

Any migration will keep the same DSLAM port.

Even when ceasing the line they leave it connected to the same port on the DSLAM so that if you reorder your connection could be reactivated remotely.

Only when that port is needed for another end user will Openreach disconnect your line from it.
So if your cabinet doesn't reach its current capacity then you would effectively remain connected to that port indefinitely.

A switch to ADSL would see your line disconnected from the DSLAM port.

Ordering a 2nd line and then cancelling the 1st would get a new port.

SOGEA by itself offers zero improvement on the DSL side.
The line is still physically connected to the copper E-Side running to the exchange. This goes for all lines.
This is to allow the ISP to run copper line tests from the exchange equipment.
As voice frequencies are outside of the frequencies used by VDSL they don't interfere anyway.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2072
    • My Broadband History
Re: FTTC Speed and DLM Issues
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2020, 02:01:48 AM »

With a 6dB SNRm, its unlikely anything can be done to improve the situation,  You've probably just become a victim of crosstalk like a lot of us have.

I used to have 100Mbit on Digital Region with an attainable in excess of 130Mbit, then once on BTW with Zen 80Mbit, then down to 66Mbit, thanks to crosstalk.

My line is shorter than yours with Line Attenuation 13.2dB down and 16.3dB up.   I can't see how backhaul has anything to do with your problem, that would be if you were getting much slower throughput compared to your sync rate.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Voxi 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

art37

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: FTTC Speed and DLM Issues
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2020, 08:49:47 PM »

Thanks all. I am clutching at straws. The problem is that interleaving has become the norm in the past few months.

Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2072
    • My Broadband History
Re: FTTC Speed and DLM Issues
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2020, 09:25:05 PM »

The only other thing would be to check the voice line for any noise.  If you're lucky, maybe there is an actual line fault.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Voxi 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

art37

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: FTTC Speed and DLM Issues
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2020, 03:44:04 PM »

Is a quiet line test still valid on a copper pair rather than a phone line? I know that AAISP allocate a notional telephone number to the line to discourage engineers from using what they think are an unused pair.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31952
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC Speed and DLM Issues
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2020, 03:57:44 PM »

Obviously you need to be able to originate a call to publicly accessible test head (17070 or 020 8759 9036). Then if the equipment responds, to the request to perform the test, the result will be valid.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
 

anything