Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Huawei HG612  (Read 1330 times)

Bozz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Huawei HG612
« on: August 09, 2020, 04:14:21 PM »

Hello all

I have an unlocked HG612 which I suddenly cannot access.

I had access via 192.168.1.1 over LAN2 but in error I think I checked the LAN1 checkbox in the screen shot attached.

Now I have no access to the modem via either LAN port.

Any help would be appreciated.

Many thanks
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31936
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2020, 05:09:05 PM »

I hope that image is not how you have configured your device but has just been used to show the "Port Binding:" tick-boxes. (I have noticed the "User name:"  :D  )

Try the following --
  • Turn off the power to the HG612.
  • Disconnect all cables currently connected to it.
  • Reconnect the power to the HG612 and wait for, say, 2 minutes.
  • Depress and hold the reset button for, say, 30 seconds.
  • Release the reset button.
  • Wait for the HG612 to internally stabilise for, say, 2 minutes.
  • Turn off the power to the HG612.
  • Wait at least 5 minutes.
  • Reconnect all the cables.
  • Reconnect the power to the HG612.
  • Check if you have now regained access to it.
If, after following the above, you are still unable to access the device then I would suggest that you perform the unlocking process.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bozz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2020, 07:45:58 AM »

Hello

Thanks for the reply I'll try the things you suggest.

And yes the screenshot is from here of course  :)

Bozz

[Moderator edited to remove the verbatim quote of the preceding post.]
« Last Edit: August 14, 2020, 03:45:47 PM by burakkucat »
Logged

Bozz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2020, 10:04:14 AM »

Worked a treat. Many thanks.

BTW are there any settings for a BT VDSL connection that I should enable / disable on this modem?

Thanks again Bozz

[Moderator edited to remove the verbatim quote of the post before last.]
« Last Edit: August 14, 2020, 03:47:04 PM by burakkucat »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31936
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2020, 03:49:50 PM »

Worked a treat. Many thanks.

You are welcome.  :)

Quote
BTW are there any settings for a BT VDSL connection that I should enable / disable on this modem?

The only item that I suggest you delete is the vlan tagged 301. That is the "backdoor" communication channel to somewhere in the BT Group, used by the BTagent and for performance monitoring, when VDSL2 services were new in the UK.

Ensure that you do not delete the first vlan, the one tagged 101. That is essential for the operation of your service.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bozz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2020, 04:08:00 PM »

You are welcome.  :)

The only item that I suggest you delete is the vlan tagged 301. That is the "backdoor" communication channel to somewhere in the BT Group, used by the BTagent and for performance monitoring, when VDSL2 services were new in the UK.

Ensure that you do not delete the first vlan, the one tagged 101. That is essential for the operation of your service.

Aplogies for being so green but where in the settings can this VLAN 301 be deleted please? I can't see any reference to it in the manual.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31936
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2020, 05:14:46 PM »

Not being able to remember the precise details, I had to get an unused HG612 from "The Grotto" and check.  :D
  • Connected via the LAN2 port, login to the GUI with the usual admin/admin credentials.
  • Left click on the Basic option in the left hand pane.
  • Now left click on the WAN option which is now shown in the left hand pane.
  • Under the WAN Connection tab in the main pane, left click on the ptm1.301 line. It should now be highlighted.
  • Left click on the Remove tab. Wait for the highlighted line to be removed.
  • Left click on the Submit button.
  • Logout.
Two screen-scrapes are attached, below.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2020, 03:09:51 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bozz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2020, 08:30:24 AM »

That's great thanks I'll give it a try.

Bozz
« Last Edit: August 15, 2020, 03:09:19 PM by burakkucat »
Logged

Bozz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2020, 01:58:09 PM »

Not being able to remember the precise details, I had to get an unused HG612 from "The Grotto" and check.  :D
  • Connected via the LAN2 port, login to the GUI with the usual admin/admin credentials.
  • Left click on the Basic option in the left hand pane.
  • Now left click on the WAN option which is now shown in the left hand pane.
  • Under the WAN Connection tab in the main pane, left click on the ptm1.301 line. It should now be highlighted.
  • Left click on the Remove tab. Wait for the highlighted line to be removed.
  • Left click on the Submit button.
  • Logout.


Two screen-scrapes are attached, below.

Sorted as per your instructions and now all set up with my new Asus RT-AX86U which seems good to me so far.

Bozz
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31936
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2020, 05:29:16 PM »

That's good to know. Thank you for the update.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: Huawei HG612
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2020, 08:02:29 PM »



What is the difference between IP_Bridged and PPPoE_Bridged under bridge type? Does IP bridge have less overheads? Also will an IPv6 address still work in this config?


EDIT: both options work for me but not sure which mode is best?
« Last Edit: October 28, 2020, 11:38:10 PM by digitalnemesis »
Logged
 

anything