Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Remind me  (Read 1164 times)

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Uno comms 80/20
Remind me
« on: July 27, 2020, 10:15:40 PM »

Having a memory blank. What is the error rate for DLM to take action per hour or per day? Just installed powerline adaptors and errors shooting up when streaming over the link.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Remind me
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2020, 01:17:33 AM »

Perhaps some pics will help.

As you can see at 18:59 is when I plugged the powerline devices in and started streaming and ES went mad around 120 per min. Then again around 21:00. Errors after that are about 1 per min while the devices are idle.

Will DLM take action and reduce my sync/increase the SNR?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6012
Re: Remind me
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2020, 07:56:15 AM »

The standard thresholds are here - https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/DLM.htm - but I believe there is some doubt if they apply to lines using G.INP as some have seen DLM action way before the required number of ES have been reached.
I think you have discovered why powerline devices are not always a good solution and are best avoided if at all possible.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Remind me
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2020, 06:06:35 PM »

Will have to wait and see, thanks for the link.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Remind me
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2020, 12:57:14 AM »

Tried to get a Wireless bridge to work as a replacement for the Powerline but neither router would see each other and when they did no connection. Even tried a Billion 8800NL R2 which has bridge mode but nada.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Remind me
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2020, 09:22:01 PM »

Success. I have wired a N55U to the AC68U and created a wifi bridge to another N55U so I can now use my PVR. Who said those N55U's wouldn't come in handy. Seems the N55U version of WDS doesn't like the AC68U version.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1646
    • My Broadband History
Re: Remind me
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2020, 01:56:38 AM »

Yeah, I always read that WDS can be dodgy when not using IDENTICAL hardware for both AP and Client.

I was always surprised that on OpenWRT even in WDS Access Point mode, both WDS and normal WiFi clients could connect to it, back when I used it.  That was on Atheros WiFi chipsets though.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadbamd Quality Monitors

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Remind me
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2020, 02:25:12 AM »

Yes I tested this with my main machine, connected to the bridge wifi but didn't seem to let me have access to WAN or local LAN, just sat there although DHCP from the AC68U seems to have given my machine an IP.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1646
    • My Broadband History
Re: Remind me
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2020, 07:58:37 PM »

Which is your actual router in this scenario?  As DHCP should only be coming from there.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadbamd Quality Monitors

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Remind me
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2020, 08:05:15 PM »

The AC68U is connected to the WAN and DHCP is enabled on that. Other 2 DHCP is disabled.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1646
    • My Broadband History
Re: Remind me
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2020, 07:28:54 PM »

That's pretty odd, as if DHCP has made it through, why wouldn't everything else?
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadbamd Quality Monitors

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Remind me
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2020, 08:02:19 PM »

Search me but I have since hidden the SSID and turned on WEP-128bit.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1646
    • My Broadband History
Re: Remind me
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2020, 08:49:08 PM »

Search me but I have since hidden the SSID and turned on WEP-128bit.

My goodness, I hope you don't have anything that still needs WEP.  Only WPA2 AES is secure these days, plus WEP limits the speed to 802.11a/g only (54Mbit link).
« Last Edit: July 31, 2020, 08:55:22 PM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadbamd Quality Monitors

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Remind me
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2020, 09:14:18 PM »

My goodness, I hope you don't have anything that still needs WEP.  Only WPA2 AES is secure these days, plus WEP limits the speed to 802.11a/g only (54Mbit link).

WDS according to the intructions only works on legacy which is 802.11a and an open system on the N55U. AC68U can do WPA2 on WDS but N55U hasnt had firmware update since 2016 but ok as a bridge. That's why I got the AC68U as it is still supported. My WAN is only 60mbps, so 54 plenty for streaming.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1646
    • My Broadband History
Re: Remind me
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2020, 11:38:40 PM »

WDS according to the intructions only works on legacy which is 802.11a and an open system on the N55U. AC68U can do WPA2 on WDS but N55U hasnt had firmware update since 2016 but ok as a bridge. That's why I got the AC68U as it is still supported. My WAN is only 60mbps, so 54 plenty for streaming.

That's very crappy of them, on OpenWRT it worked fine on the TP-Link WDR3600 which is hardly new or high-end.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadbamd Quality Monitors
Pages: [1] 2