Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?  (Read 1299 times)

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2089

I live in a G.Fast area but I'm really too far from the cabinet to make it worth my while.

My area was one of the first G.Fast enabled areas, will Openreach be enabling FTTP in these kinds of areas or will we be stuck for good?
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2020, 02:53:27 PM »

I live in a G.Fast area but I'm really too far from the cabinet to make it worth my while.

My area was one of the first G.Fast enabled areas, will Openreach be enabling FTTP in these kinds of areas or will we be stuck for good?

Hi

Openreach are adding FTTP into areas with G.Fast, so it's not a definite "No you will never get FTTP" simply because there is some G.Fast.  The question that is hard to answer is "When" might it happen, could be next month all the way up to 15 years or more!

You will need to tell us your exchange area (and the area you sit relative to it) which may give some indication to a "When" to those with a bit more knowledge of such things.

Regards

Phil
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3391
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2020, 03:55:07 PM »

OpenReach have done a fair bit of overbuild of FTTP in G.Fast areas.

In some areas they have completely overbuilt the G.Fast making it pretty much redundant.
In other areas they have skipped FTTP for those who get full speed on G.Fast and rolled out FTTP for those without G.Fast (including those with lower estimates).

The fact your area has G.Fast doesn't mean you won't get FTTP.
The fact someone has access to full rate G.Fast might delay FTTP somewhat as they might be skipped initially.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2089
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2020, 02:51:12 PM »

Parsons Green exchange.

Vera Road is where I sit, G.Fast estimate is just about 100Mb
Logged

gt94sss2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2020, 04:21:47 PM »

I live in a G.Fast area but I'm really too far from the cabinet to make it worth my while.

I'm in a somewhat similar position, not that far away in Wandsworth so I sympathise. In our case, we are too far out from the cabinet fl to get g.fast mainly due I suspect to poor copper in our local loop.
Logged

jwgs

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2021, 03:03:52 PM »

I'm in a similar area, connected to the Putney exchange in Wandsworth borough. I can get g.fast, but only just (install engineer said distance to the cab was just over 300m), and was wondering whether the fact g.fast is somewhat widely available in the area would mean upgrading it to fttp is less of a priority? Any idea how long we could be waiting for fttp deployment? (The exchange isn't listed as being an openreach 'priority' as far as I can find)
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2185
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2021, 07:35:47 PM »

If G.fast is available at the cabinet I'm on, but I was out of range. Would it still show up on the broadbandchecker site? i.e. as not available?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3391
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2021, 08:14:39 PM »

If G.fast is available at the cabinet I'm on, but I was out of range. Would it still show up on the broadbandchecker site? i.e. as not available?

Nope.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

gt94sss2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2021, 11:23:22 PM »

Wandsworth and Putney are on the list of 100 BT exchanges to close by 2030. (See https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2020/12/openreach-consult-on-closure-plans-for-4600-uk-exchanges.html)

I suspect we will see FTTP within the next 3 years, if not sooner. Openreach have to realise that at the speed other firms are installing fibre, they will be ceding large profitable markets unless they concentrate their build on more on urban areas instead of rural ones
Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1291
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2021, 12:48:12 AM »

I live in a G.Fast area but I'm really too far from the cabinet to make it worth my while.

My area was one of the first G.Fast enabled areas, will Openreach be enabling FTTP in these kinds of areas or will we be stuck for good?

G.fast was not available in 43 Greenfield Road, Great Barr, Birmingham B43 5AR and G.fast available in 47 Greenfield Road, Great Barr, Birmingham B43 5AR. So, Openreach put FTTP on both houses there.

Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1742
  • Random network numpty
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2021, 12:27:09 AM »

My area was one of the first G.Fast enabled areas, will Openreach be enabling FTTP in these kinds of areas or will we be stuck for good?

Openreach overbuilt G.fast within 6 months of it going live at my previous address. They don't seem to blink at the presence of G.fast, especially if there are premises that can't receive it.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120
Routing: Mikrotik CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS
Switching: Mikrotik 2 * CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 2 * CRS309-1G-8S+; 1 * CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Zen Full Fibre 900. Faelix FTTP 300

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1291
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2021, 09:55:17 PM »

Last time I spoken with Openreach engineer to install new master socket at my parents. They did ask the engineer their cabinet are too far approx within 500m away and their FTTC estimate only get 75.4 but no G.fast or FTTP except me with FTTC estimate of 80.0 and G.fast 259.8 but no FTTP. The engineer told us both for this area with Cuckoo Oak exchange, you both are unlikely to get any FTTP not within next 5-10 years.  :(
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2341
    • Broadband History, Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral Link
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2021, 10:52:20 PM »

I can pretty much guarantee that an engineer working on the copper line knows nothing about what the FTTP plans are.  Most of these comments from engineers are purely their opinion.

I once talked to an engineer working on a cabinet who said FTTP would be coming soon to my area, that was perhaps 10 years ago now.

I mean yes, its coming NOW, but I wouldn't call it "soon".  Even our resident experts who have a much closer association with that side of the business can only see what is CURRENTLY happening, not what is coming.

The only person who half a clue is the Project Manager for the area.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2021, 11:41:09 PM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD + Honor Router 3
Ping Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1291
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2021, 03:06:19 PM »

Not surprised BTw removed G.fast in my property now for no reason  ??? and still no FTTP available yet! That's a shocker! But who care? As long I still on FTTC lol  ;D
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1742
  • Random network numpty
Re: Will FTTP replace G.Fast in already completed G.Fast areas?
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2021, 04:02:18 PM »

Just a checker update. It's back.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120
Routing: Mikrotik CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS
Switching: Mikrotik 2 * CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 2 * CRS309-1G-8S+; 1 * CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Zen Full Fibre 900. Faelix FTTP 300