Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi  (Read 643 times)

Pint

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« on: June 27, 2020, 01:46:49 PM »

I'm currently using a billion 8800nl rc2 router, in a plusnet VDSL connection, however the wifi performance from it is incredibly poor, wired i get speeds of 38mb, and on wifi ( measured using the speed test app and fast) i get speeds of around 8mb or less - even when right next to the router
 I have tried different channels and moving the router- but nothing seems to make a difference.
 At the moment ive plugged an old router in, and using that as an access point, although its not idea, as i need a one box solution ( due to space etc) the billion device is now 4 years old and was original used on an ADSL service where the wifi speeds were the same as the/not much different than the ADSL speeds.
 The 2.4 band is pretty crowded and has been since a new nearby housing estate was built.

any recomendations for a replacement VDSL modem/router with 5Ghz wifi - or some settings to fiddle with on the billion?
 Apart form the wifi ive had no other issues with the billion 8800nl r2
Logged

psychopomp1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2020, 06:48:05 PM »

I assume you've done a hard factory reset on the 8800NL with no improvement?

If you want to stick with Billion then go for the 8900AX. Obviously not cheap, but a great router for wifi coverage as well as having a rock solid xDSL chipset (BCM).

Otherwise something like a TP Link VR2100 would be a cheaper option but still a huge upgrade from the 8800NL wrt wifi.
Logged


FTTP 330/50

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2020, 10:23:55 PM »

I'm currently using a billion 8800nl rc2 router, in a plusnet VDSL connection, however the wifi performance from it is incredibly poor, wired i get speeds of 38mb, and on wifi ( measured using the speed test app and fast) i get speeds of around 8mb or less - even when right next to the router
 any recomendations for a replacement VDSL modem/router with 5Ghz wifi - or some settings to fiddle with on the billion?
 Apart form the wifi ive had no other issues with the billion 8800nl r2

Standing right next to the router, the 8800nl r2 will connect at 802.11b speeds, and further away 802.11g, unless you have chosen "wireless n clients only" in the advanced config.

Other than that, the wireless performance is pretty rubbish, it's my company's go to modem for vdsl and adsl connections, but that's not because of it wireless performance, it's a perfectly decent performer in bridge mode, and you can easily identify the power, internet and dsl connections on the front of it, plus it's failover dual wan is handy.

If you are looking for something with a similar chipset but dual wan, there is the Archer VR400 v2, though on this forum the go to router is a Zyxel VMG1312-B10D or B10A in bridge mode with a separate access point.



Logged

Pint

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2020, 07:07:23 PM »

is this the TP link model?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wireless-Connections-Infinity-Archer-VR400/dp/B01LFGTEI6

[Moderator edited to simplify the link.]
« Last Edit: July 06, 2020, 07:15:03 PM by burakkucat »
Logged

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2020, 09:41:08 AM »

Logged

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2020, 10:58:30 AM »

is this the TP link model?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wireless-Connections-Infinity-Archer-VR400/dp/B01LFGTEI6

[Moderator edited to simplify the link.]

I have the TP-LINK VR400 and the wifi coverage sucks and keeps dropping / reconnecting every few minutes apart from lack of detailed line stats either from UI or the custom TP-LINK telnet interface (TP-LINK disabled or removed direct telnet to Broadcom chipset) and can not be monitored by DSLstats for example,, I would stick with the Zyxel -B10A as it performs better than -B10D as a modem, or get a wifi solution for the Billion so the problem will be fixed and everything would be almost the same.
Logged

Pint

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2020, 07:07:39 PM »

this : https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wireless-Connections-Infinity-Archer-VR400/dp/B06XW26XZ3?th=1   
TP-LINK AC1600
Itwould be at the top of my budget level - any benefit on that model?
One of the things i'm after is  a single box, with good (strong) wifi 2.4+5Ghz, and preferably the ability to self diagnose issues such as line stats etc ( to avoid having to call the ISP where possible)
Logged

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2020, 08:06:12 PM »

Maybe the VR600 "AC1600" perform better on wifi part than the VR400, but most of "if not all" TP-LINK single box solutions suffer the same fate of lacking detailed line stats that can help to self diagnose line even a detailed error counts (FEC, CRC, ES, etc....) are not available,, though it is not cheap and TP-LINK hardly pushes firmware updates last one was on 04-05-2017 which "as I think" is the only update for the stock firmware..

I would get a Zyxel for sure if I had the choice but TP-LINK is the only Broadcom based brand in my country so I have to deal with the VR400.
Logged

Pint

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2020, 08:33:40 PM »

i take it that the TP link boxes arent the way to go
Logged

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2020, 08:57:00 PM »

i take it that the TP link boxes arent the way to go

Yup, I know how Billions in general provide much of information either using the UI or telnet commands and line stats can be monitored from software like DSLstats or similar apps. thanks to allowing access to Broadcom telnet so the user can have a logged history for the line or line diagnose in case of internal issue as you can test the line and see the result so no need to call ISP and have a OR engineer visit for an issue that is under customer responsibility.

That is why I were focusing on line stats in TP-LINK routers.
Logged

Pint

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2020, 09:01:29 PM »

the billion 8900ax, as recommended previously is significantly out of budget :(

Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1307
    • My Broadband History
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2020, 09:05:23 PM »

If WiFi is the only issue then have you thought of keeping the Billion as-is and just add a dedicated Access Point or a router in Access Point mode?
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) + Three (Hauwei B535-232)
Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

Pint

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2020, 09:34:48 PM »

one of the things im after is a single box solution, mainly for neatness
Logged

psychopomp1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2020, 10:14:17 PM »

the billion 8900ax, as recommended previously is significantly out of budget :(

In that case go for the TP Link VR2100 as I suggested earlier. You won't be disappointed :)
Logged


FTTP 330/50

Chunkers

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
  • Brick Wall head-banger
Re: Billion 8800nl r2 poor wifi
« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2020, 01:12:33 PM »

Personally I think TP-Link hardware is OK, but am not a fan of TP-Link's apparent habit of dropping firmware support relatively quickly.

I would tend to favour a different manufacturer but I know TP-Link devices do appear to be good value, if you are contemplating a TP-Link then I think it would be good to select one which has an opensource firmware support e.g. OpenWRT

C
« Last Edit: July 08, 2020, 01:17:03 PM by Chunkers »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2