Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A as backup  (Read 1103 times)

KPG

• Just arrived
ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A as backup
« on: June 19, 2020, 01:17:29 PM »

Hello.

Having experienced a few issues with my existing modem-router I've been casting around for a backup device (or even a replacement if the issues persist or get worse). Would prefer an all-in-one for the usual reasons - limited desk space and spare sockets - plus I am not technically savvy so the fewer boxes to wrangle, the better.

Since ZyXel has been recommended to me by my ISP as well as in these forums, I have alighted on the ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A - in part because I've found it at good prices on eBay.

I know there are existing threads and I have read users' comments on this model, but would it still be the case that this is a solid purchase for FTTC modem-router purposes? More to the point, is it considered user-friendly if you are not especially comfortable with going under the hood?

Many thanks.

tubaman

• Senior Kitizen
Re: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A as backup
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2020, 11:39:33 AM »

I've always been very happy with my VMG8924-B10A. I have tried a lot of other modem/routers over the years and the Zyxel is always the one that ends up back on my line. The main reason for this is that I've struggled to find anything else that performs as well on the modem side. This is a very personal thing as all lines differ in which modem they like best, but you certainly should get decent results on pretty much any line.
On the router side of things I like the interface, and although it isn't the most user friendly around it's certainly not bad (plenty of help available on here too!).